2008 Resolutions and DC Application

Worship – Worship, in a way, gained a whole new perspective for me. It became just me and God in a room with music. And I also started worshiping not just through song, but prayer, reading my Bible, and just listening with my heart.

Joy – I can’t express the joy God filled me with at DC and continues to fill me with now. I felt so blessed and so loved by Him and knowing all that fills me with incredible joy. I also found how great my joy is when I take the time to sit and be with God. I long to spend time with God every day, but as it says in Romans 7,

“So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.”

Service – God reminded me to serve my friends and to respect and honor them, not to go overboard in teasing, etc… to serve everyone in every way and at all times, letting Christ’s love shine through me by my actions.

Humility – Well, the Candle Dance not working definitely put all four of us down a little. It reminded me to accept circumstances and bear with them… and to live them out. I think (not that we were proud, I didn’t see that in Cait, Elisabeth, or Hannah… and I pray it wasn’t in me), that we needed a reminder that things can go wrong and God is in control – and we’re under Him and need to “Humble [ourselves] in the sight of the Lord.”

So how am I going to apply all this? It comes in the form of six New Year’s Resolutions:

1. I resolve to spend more time in God’s word and being with God, thus spending less time online and in the world. I want my influence to be 100% God, so it is not overrun with the influence of the world.

2. I resolve to strive to do my best in anything and always push myself as high as I can go, be it in school, music, relationships… etcetera.

3. I resolve to serve others more, and serve others for their benefit, not my own.

4. I resolve to not go overboard in anything, especially teasing and be willing to stop an argument when it begins to go too far, even if it may mean a slight defeat.

5. I resolve to let God into all rooms of my heart, not holding anything back from Him.

6. I resolve to grow closer to my family, loving them more and getting to know them better.

Brett Harris’s Resolutions from 2005
I think are very good and would encourage you to read them.

Leave a Reply

