Reading, music, photography, and baseball.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately.

First was Baroness Orczy’s classic The Scarlet Pimpernel. That book continues to amaze me every time I read it. There’s so much there, Sir Percy, Chauvelin, and the Scarlet Pimpernel are such neat characters.

Second was the first two books of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events. I love those books. His writing style is so neat, the kids have such interesting characters… I wish I’d been able to check them all out of the Old Library at once. 😛

Third was Silas Marner. I’d heard it was quite good, and it didn’t quite meet my own expectations of “good,” but I still really liked it and enjoyed reading it.

Now I’m chugging my way through The Little Woman by Gladys Aylward. That’s such a great book, I love it.

I’ve been enjoying listening to Vivaldi lately… mostly the four seasons. It’s so much fun to listen to that while biking, the mood of all of them can change the mood around you (if you’re the right type of person. :P).

And I’ve been really enjoying all of my music lately, theory, guitar, piano, oboe…

Been doing a lot of photography, too. Mostly some out in the desert and with the oboe, but I’m wanting to do more, especially in India, that should be fun.
Thursday at Nate’s baseball game I got to keep score with Mr. Bryan’s help. It was lots of fun, though it’s so much more complicated than you’d think! Gotta put where each player got out, how they got out, who got them out, etc… made the game go quickly, though!

Friday night we went out to the desert. We tossed around the frisbee, played with the volleyball, and ran around for a while. After dinner Rachel set up their telescope, and we spent a while getting that to work, then looked at the moon, a nebula near Orion’s belt, and Saturn.
Sarah and I walked up to one of the higher dunes and sat there for a while and talked about life, the universe, and everything. Well, it was more of quiet times, predestination, and non-Christian friends, which was really good.

Easter and Good Friday here are so different. Because it’s not a country founded on somewhat Christian beliefs, most people don’t get Easter off of school or work. Church is on Fridays normally, so Good Friday usually isn’t really any different. Sunday should be fun, though, we’re going to the sunrise service and then doing a Seder meal with friends.

Kilo-Yankee

2 thoughts on “Reading, music, photography, and baseball.

  1. Autumn says:

    Hey!
    I love the Little Woman and Lemony Snickets. If you like the series of unfortuante events, you should read Ella Enchanted.
    I want to see your pictures!
    Happy Resurrection Day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

