Metronomes and Facebook.

Two somewhat random things I’ve been thinking about lately… (be afraid?)

I figured since I’ve been asked so many times these past two months if I have a Facebook, I’d write up a “why I’m not on Facebook.”
I just thought of all of this yesterday, when I read these two quotes in a topic on the Rebelution forum.
So people ask why I’m not on Facebook, and I say I think it’d be too addicting for me and take time away from God… they say they don’t find that.
First quote: (John Wesley’s Mother)

“Take this rule: whatever weakens your reason, impairs the tenderness of your conscience, obscures your sense of God or takes off your relish of spiritual things; in short, whatever increase the strength and authority of your body over your mind, that thing is sin to YOU, however innocent it may be in itself””

Second quote: (Jerry Bridges)

“Years ago a friend gave me what he called his ‘Formula: How to Know Right from Wrong.’ The formula asks four questions based on three verses in 1 Corinthians:
– ‘Everything is permissible for me –but not everything is beneficial’ (1 Corinthians 6:12). Question 1: Is it helpful –physically, spiritually, and mentally?
– ‘Everything is permissible for me –but I will not be mastered by anything’ (1 Corinthians 6:12). Question 2: Does it bring me under its power?
– ‘Therefore, if what I eat causes my brother to fall into sin, I will never eat meat again, so that I will not cause him to fall’ (1 Corinthians 8:13). Question 3: Does it hurt others?
– ‘So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God’ (1 Corinthians 10:31). Question 4: Does it glorify God?”

So now people who ask me why I don’t have Facebook won’t just get an “Cuz I’m an anti-social unsocialized non-facebooker homeschooler!” (after which I receive VERY strange looks from people). But they’ll get a discursus on the subject instead. (look that word up if you don’t know it; it’s a good word).

Secondly, I was practicing piano today and using the metronome (do I hear a bunch of other “ICK!” from out there? :P). Anyway, I was having some trouble with counting and running ahead of it, then slowing back down, struggling to stay with it. (admittedly, I did the same thing while practicing oboe…).
Suddenly I thought of something Layne and Mr. Rawleigh were talking about at Csehy – Layne had mentioned how his year had been really up and down, and then Mr. Rawleigh reminded us that even though our lives fluctuate, God’s right there, constant, in the middle of it all. (What a comfort!) Also, we may be trying to go faster or slower than He wants us to go – but remember, it’s all in His timing. Always His timing, not ours. I’ve been realizing that and noticing God in the little things recently – even just the placing of my Rubik’s cube yesterday – I hadn’t done the dishes after lunch, and my Rubik’s cube was sitting right by the dishwasher… so to get there I had to pass the sink filled with dirty dishes… and put them in the dishwasher before I picked up my cube.
God in the little things… not just coincidence.

Edit – November 2009 – Although I do have a Facebook now, I use it with the goal of encouraging one person in the LORD every day. I limit my friends to those I do not see regularly (with a few exceptions).

Nanowrimo starts in 51 days. I can’t wait!
I have an oboe lesson Wednesday at 3:30. Pray it goes well, it’s with a different teacher than last year, and I really hope he’s a good teacher, because we only have one other option…

God bless
Kyleian

6 thoughts on “Metronomes and Facebook.

  1. Cait says:

    I can’t say I still wouldn’t ENJOY having you on facebook, but it is so true that some things are right for some and not others – not in the sense of morally or intrinsically, but as for how they are used in our lives. I admire your persistence in that sis =)

    Like

  2. Anna says:

    That’s probably why my mom won’t let me have one… Personally I’d like one; not too many people read my blog, but almost everyone I know has Facebook.

    Ooh, Nano… The thought of even trying to get 50,000 words in a mere 31 days scares me.

    Like

  3. Eric novak says:

    I had the impression that facebook was like myspace so I never Got one. However when a friend showed me the difference I decided to sign up. As you said, it can be addicting. If you set limits that fixes the problem though 😉

    Eric

    Like

  4. Eric Novak says:

    Ha, I’m wondering who installed the spotlights because God sure isn’t making that light shine down!

    Yes I agree that we shouldn’t slam Obama too much, but I’m just writing off of what some columnists have said. Obama other worldly? My foot!

    Eric

    Like

  5. Trey Edwards says:

    Why I use Facebook:

    When used in moderation, it can be a useful tool for godly fellowship between believers, and a way to get to know other brothers and sisters in Christ.

    (If you don’t add ANY of the invites that people send you, it is very difficult to get addicted/spend a lot of time. These applications take up most of the time that people spend on Facebook, and are usually pointless.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

