Lessons from A Quilt Square: Mariner’s Compass

Photobucket

I love quilting.
Last year for sewing I did a bunch of paper piecing animals – 6 foxes, a koala, kookaburra, wallaby, and platypus. In the closing weeks of last school year, I started planning my quilt. I couldn’t decide on just ONE pattern, so I’m making a sampler quilt.
The colors I chose are light purple, light blue, white, pale pink, dark purple, and dark blue.
Recently I finished the centerpiece of my quilt: Mariner’s Compass.

It was one of the toughest things I have ever done.
Precision, perfection, triple checking, and then triple checking again. Keeping on even when I just want to get it done… A thousand “Mrs. C! It didn’t work again!” and then reaching for the seam ripper… again. We joke that the seam ripper is my best friend.

But I finally finished it. The centerpiece of my quilt is done (and I promptly started cutting out my next piece, Ribbon star – so much easier, but I already messed up… can’t I do things right the first time? Well, I have to scrap a few pieces and remake the pattern. Not very fun.)
It’s beautiful.
Photobucket
Mariner’s Compass. My Mariner’s Compass. Filled with tears, sighs, and then finally joy.

But it’s taught me a lot – a bunch of thread and material scraps is all it is, but it’s taught me a lot.
Perseverance – Struggling through the desire to just put it aside or leave it messed up. Moments close to tears because it just wasn’t working. Quilting is hard work.
One of my favorite Bible verses is Romans 5:3-4. “More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”
I love quilting, don’t get me wrong. And it’s not exactly suffering, but it sure does produce endurance, which then produces character… which sure helps with hope. Now that I have the trickiest piece out of my way, and even if I didn’t, I could look back and say “Hey, I got that one, I’m gonna get this one, too.”

The second lesson just comes from the name – Mariner’s compass.
Life got stormy while I was working on the quilt. Decisions galore. Quilting was a reminder that God’s my compass. God and His Word. On the sea of life, for this small little Mariner, I’ve got the greatest compass in the world.
That’s awesome.

I still have 44 more quilt squares to do. I think I have about 10 more different patterns… and I’m sure God will teach me a lesson with at least a few of them. 😉 … but for now, I’ve just got His compass to guide me…
Photobucket

Bail o Dia ort,
Kyleigh

8 thoughts on “Lessons from A Quilt Square: Mariner’s Compass

  1. Autumn says:

    It is beautiful, Kyleigh. I love the colors and the pattern. I started a quilt…and never finished it. Maybe I will now…=)
    I liked your analogies too. You are so smart!

    Like

  2. Sara B. says:

    A Mariner’s Compass! The Most Difficult Block, I’ve heard it referred to and you did it! And with enough sanity left to absorb some lovely lessons, too. 🙂

    (I’m a fellow quilter, currently working on a jacket for my sister’s dog.)

    Like

  3. Anna says:

    You pick out Biblical lessons from the strangest things, Ky. 🙂 I love that about you.

    A confession: I have never quilted. (Does this surprise you? It probably shouldn’t, though I did make that cloak…) The compass IS lovely. One wouldn’t guess you had to tear out the stitches over and over and over.

    ❤ u!

    Like

  4. jwpraisegod says:

    (*Correction: I was, and I am; slightly touched in the head. My younger sister never did any quilting. She did some crocheting. Sorry.
    It’s quite fascinating how many different ways there are to place material together.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

