Spiderman and Romanticism

I know I’ve been neglecting my blog – I’ve been neglecting the whole of the internet, which is actually a rather good thing! I’ve been writing and sewing and trying to ahead in school – Cait and I are heading out to Bahrain for 2-4 days soon, and gramma’s coming and while she’s still here Uncle Mike leaves.

We’ve been watching some (ok, a lot!) of Horatio Hornblower… Go Archie! 🙂

I’ve finally finished the main editing process on my Nanowrimo from this year, though another name for God/the Creator would be nice. I’ve also started scribbling away on the final book in the trilogy. This is the first one I haven’t used really Celtic names in – the main character is Jeffrey. It just fits him.

Anyways… Nate got Spiderman 2 for Christmas, and we watched the first one the day before that. I was talking to Daddy and Connor about it (though not at the same time)… and we all found it interesting that evil always seems to come from outside – Doc Oc, from his experiment gone wrong. The Green Goblin, from his experiment gone wrong… and Venom, from the suit (I haven’t seen the third one, but Connor told me the story line).

These past 2 weeks for school I’ve been reading Frankenstein. Apart from sending shivers up and down my spine, it’s a perfect example of romanticism – “I was made good, circumstances just made me turn evil.”

Such a far cry from Biblical Truth.
Genesis 8:21 – “I will never again curse[1] the ground because of man, for the intention of man’s heart is evil from his youth. Neither will I ever again strike down every living creature as I have done.”

Ecclesiastes 9:3 – “This is an evil in all that is done under the sun, that the same event happens to all. Also, the hearts of the children of man are full of evil, and madness is in their hearts while they live, and after that they go to the dead.”

I’m about to start working on a literature paper on Frankenstein, literary analysis of the theme – which is romanticism. My two points? Man is basically good, evil comes from outside. I’m trying to think of more… any ideas?

– Kyleigh

3 thoughts on “Spiderman and Romanticism

  1. Anna says:

    I don’t know much about Frankenstein or romanticism, so I can’t help you there.

    I’m so excited about the rest of the “Victorious Saga”!!

    I’ve read alot of different names for God in fantasy… The Swift Sure Hand, The Goodly-Wise, the Keeper, the Unseen One… the list goes on. You could try a literal translation of a Jehovah-____ name, maybe.

    Like

  2. Autumn says:

    Perfect timing Kyleigh! I just finished Frankenstein, the read Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Now I am reading “The Deadliest Monster” by J.F. Baldwin. I would recommend it. It is all about the difference in how Frankenstein is made good, and stuff like that. You may find it helpful.
    I hadn’t ever thought about that in Spiderman, but that is a good point!

    Like

Leave a Reply

