The End of A School Year.

This year… has just flown by. And now I’m done being a junior, forever and ever and ever. This was a good year. It was a hard year, with physics, pre-cal, and some hard lessons from God. But God is “Jehovah-Shalom,” the LORD our peace. He will receive my praise for this year… for which there is much to be thankful for.

This was my second year on oboe, and a year of INCREDIBLE improvement with a new teacher. Getting a new oboe in the states this fall was a big part of that, and finding the oboe was completely a God-thing.
In October and November we were in the States for a total of 3 weeks. We got to see old friends and cousins, visit Williamsburg and the capital, NASA, and Disney World.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Nanowrimo started in the middle of that, and Love Victorious was written.

January brought many people to visit, relatives, friends… you name it, I think they were here. 😉 I went to Venice with daddy, and Cait came home from almost a month in Oman!
Photobucket

February brought the last wave of visitors and our trip to Bahrain.
Photobucket
(playing dance praise with friends in BAH)
In March, Caroline moved, and the last wave of visitors left.
April was YOME and the first few days of Yemen.
Photobucket
May was the last days of Yemen, the homestretch of school…
Photobucket
June… farewells. And lots of them. Two friends I’ll see again at Csehy. Some I may not ever see again. Some left earlier in the year, some may leave after the summer. It’s odd, suddenly being the one left behind when it used to be that I was the one always moving. I can’t ever remember having a friend move away until we moved here. It was always me moving. It’s odd, and kind of frustrating at the same time.

God taught me more about love – His love and our love, humility, submission, perseverance…

There are a bunch of people who challenged me this year:
There’s mommy and daddy, in too many ways to write down, but theologically, spiritually, and academically, there’s Joy from Yemen, who challenged me in the way that I assess movies and books and the quality of what I consume – Joy, you’ve got such great discernment, which is a great example, thank you!
There’s Caroline, whose humility and openness helped me look at myself more, and with whom I had many conversations about sharing the gospel in various ways.
There’s Sarah Y whose intentional conversations starters have brought on many good conversations!
Sarah H whose desire to get along with her siblings more has challenged me to look at the way I interact with my siblings.
There’s Mikhal, whose perseverance in guitar and desire to grow in the LORD and sharing what he’s learned and our many conversations about life the universe and everything were encouraging and challenging,
The C’s, especially Hannah, Rachel, and Mrs. C., for those wonderful afternoons spent together singing, quilting, and discussing theological things or any random thing that came to mind.
The N’s… just wow. 🙂 God did an incredible thing bringing them here.
… and many more, who have impacted me in little ways or even big ways, but some of them are too deep to talk about.

I read over 40 Henty books, finished over half of my quilt, wrote a book, edited another, and started yet a third… made and edited a music video (which we can’t post on YouTube because of copyright laws [grr?])
Things I’m doing this summer: Csehy for 2 weeks, Gramma’s house for about a week, Snow Mountain Ranch in CO for a few days with daddy’s side of the family, then Leavenworth with mom’s side, and then Anna comes to visit! 🙂 Hopefully somewhere in there I’ll be able to read Hornblower books, make a dress and watch ‘The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.’ (which I’ve wanted to watch for the LONGEST time, but seeing as it’s about the Holocaust… something that doesn’t go too well living in the Middle East.

At the end of next school year, I’ll be done. DONE. But I have to work through another year of schoolwork first… it will be different from this school year, in many ways. I have no math, not even in science. This year, I had French, Arabic, physics, pre-cal, literature, history, and Bible. This coming year, I have FRench, Arabic, Anatomy and Physiology, economics, lit, history, and Understanding the Times.
But one thing will stay the same: God’s gonna teach me a LOT!
And maybe we’ll deepen the community we’re finally starting to have here.

I can’t wait to see what God will do. 🙂
Shalom,
Kyleigh

3 thoughts on “The End of A School Year.

  1. Natalie says:

    Hi Kyleigh!

    Just wanted to say I’ve really enjoyed your and your sister’s blogs….. It was very interesting to hear about your year- life in the Middle East seems very fascinating!
    Anyway, I hope you have a good week-

    blessings,
    Natalie

    Like

Leave a Reply

