A Homemade Christmas – Dolly, Nate, and Star

A Homemade Christmas at SimplyVintagegirl.com
Week 1

Photobucket
Dolly for Kelsea, my piano student. She quite frequently would ask me if I would get her Pollys for Christmas. Although I once played with them and Candace plays with them, my view on Polly’s is much the same as my view on Barbies – there are much better things for young girls to play with. But I wanted to give her something for Christmas, and so made this doll. I used scraps from my concert skirt and underdress for her dress and body. Her hat and poncho are from some fleece I’ve had for years since making my own poncho (the embroidery floss which is the edging on the hat and poncho is also left over). I wanted to make the doll with darker skin because Kelsea is from Trinidad, but didn’t have the material.
I love the way her face turned out, and the hair turned out better than I expected. Her hat didn’t turn out quite right, especially now that it sank down into her face, pushing her hair in her eyes when I sewed it on. Like Barbie and Polly, hair in eyes is not something I want to encourage, but seam ripping it would have torn apart her face because the cloth I used for her skin is so delicate.
Photobucket
The hair frustrated me to no end. So I sewed the yarn onto a strip of cloth, then sewed that onto doll’s head.

Photobucket
This is the only semi-homemade family Christmas present I can post. It’s for Nate. Last time I was in Yemen I bought the frame with Nate in mind, and then this summer chose and printed a picture of him in Yemen. The man selling the jambiyyas is chewing qat, but don’t worry, Nate’s just faking. πŸ™‚ Yemen was a very special trip for Nate; I don’t think he’s ever hated leaving somewhere so much (especially after putting up such a fight about going!).

The above are the only two presents I can post on here due to the presence of others reading my blog, but here’s an ornament I finished:
Photobucket


I’ve always loved the folded star potholders, and in a gap at sewing where I was waiting for material, I chose some of the C’s and found their pattern for this. Beside it was instructions for making a mini one, for a coaster or ornament. Photobucket
PhotobucketI love those colors together, what do you think?

We don’t decorate at all until December. Mommy grew up putting the tree up right after Thanksgiving, daddy not until later in December. We’ve compromised and usually decorate the first Saturday in December. I have already started playing Christmas carols on the piano (just to practice!) and we’ve been singing Christmas music since October, for ensemble.

The next post for A Homemade Christmas is December 1. (It’s not too late to join us!) Hopefully then I’ll have more decorations… though I may wait until a few days after December 1 to post because we won’t have the Christmas tree up until later. But I should have some paper snowflakes cut… and I’ll have a surprise to announce. πŸ™‚

Looking forward to celebrating the incarnation of my Messiah,
Kyleigh

PS – We were way out in the desert the other night, under the stars, enjoying the silence and warmth of the campfire, and these camels provided perfect silhouettes for pictures. This is my favorite:
PhotobucketIt makes me think a little of the Wise Men. πŸ™‚
(Click to view it bigger, it is rather dark and hard to see when small)

7 thoughts on “A Homemade Christmas – Dolly, Nate, and Star

  1. Bridgett says:

    The dolly is so adorable and I’m sure it will be treasured. There’s so much of you in it!!

    The frame is neat and the ornament is pretty.

    Keep up the great work your doing of making a meaningful Christmas!!

    Like

  2. Emily Rose @ Simply Vintagegirl says:

    I enjoyed reading your post! That was very sweet of you to make a doll for your piano student (I agree: much, much better than Pollys and Barbies!). πŸ™‚

    That frame looks neat, I have never seen one like it before.

    You did a nice job on the star coaster/ornament.

    That must have been beautiful to see the camels’ silhouette!

    I look forward to your future A Homemade Christmas posts!

    Have a blessed day in the Lord!
    With Joy in Christ,
    Emily Rose

    Like

Leave a Reply

