Newsies.

My latest obsession has been the musical Newsies. I’d wanted to see it for some time now, and while looking up the plot on google I found a link to the whole movie on YouTube. So I watched it, and absolutely love it. Since then, I’ve been trying to write a review of it, because it’s a somewhat older movie (I’m not cut out to be a movie reviewer. When you know that nothing is neutral, everything is difficult. Every little thing is either good or bad, and when you’re like me… well then it takes a while). While watching it a second time to re-evaluate some scenees, I was struck by how well some of it fits the world today.
My favorite part is when the Newsies are standing outside the gates of the newspaper place. They’re on strike.  (you can watch it here. Start at 1:16-ish, end at 1:50)

“Open the gates and seize the day
Don’t be afraid and don’t delay
Nothing can break us
No one can make us
Give our rights away
Arise and seize the day…”

They’re striking for their rights – because Pulitzer lives with 3 satin pillows under his head at night while they’re begging for bread to survive, and Pulitzer wants to squeeze the Newsies even more.
I’ve had Seize the Day stuck in my head almost constantly. It’s the last three lines that really get me. “No one can make us, Give our rights away: Arise and seize the day.”
Here’s what I have to say: Mr. President, you cannot take our rights. “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights…” .
President Obama can’t TAKE our rights, but as James stated so clearly in Mind Control, we often give them to the government. When the government is sqeezing us for tax dollars, we can’t complain. The Newsies didn’t do anything to be squeezed for their money. We Americans have. We’ve given the government power. We’ve elected people like Woodrow Wilson who wanted to abolish the constitution and use government to save the souls of people. We’ve given them our children. They can’t MAKE us give our rights away, but we’ve chosen to do that.
What do we do?
We gotta do what the Newsies did, and seize the day. In his sermon, Michael Billings said it very well – “Night is falling, we must seize the day.” In some places, night HAS fallen, and we have to pray for God to bring the day back. But where night has not yet fallen, we have to take action. Action in prayer, action in reformation.
A strike doesn’t work when it comes to government.
But God DOES.

We were talking about shepherds at Well Group the other night. Shepherds not as herding sheep, not as leading the Church (specifically). Mostly just leaders in general. We looked at John 10 and Ezekiel 34.
While reading Ezekiel 34, I kept thinking of Pulitzer and how he was a bad shepherd – robbing the boys to feed himself – and not just feeding, but stuffing. The song “Once and for All” expresses it well.
“Three satin pillows are under his head
While we’re beggin’ for bread to survive…
This is for kids shinin’ shoes in the street
With no shoes on their feet every day
This is for guys sweatin’ blood in the shops
While the bosses and cops look away…”

That’s a bad shepherd.
The good shepherd not only cares for the sheep, but does it even though it costs Him His life, which He gives willingly.

Then we talked about bad shepherds in the world today. The first one that popped into my head was President Obama. But I didn’t say it. I held my tongue, and stuck to it for the first time. When it comes to politics, I usually have an opinion, and it’s a politically incorrect opinion, and I want to say it.
It usually comes up at Well Group, and has been almost every week now.
This week I said a good leader was Stonewall Jackson. Someone immediately replied “But he was from the South.” “Yeah.” “And the South had slaves.” “But the war wasn’t over slavery!” “Yes it was!” I had tons of things wanting to spill out of my mouth at once, but I just said “I’ll send you my paper” and left it at that.
A few weeks ago as a prayer request I asked for prayer about the health care bill… and got bombed down right away with people saying that they thought government health care was good. Bite your tongue, Kyleigh.
Sometimes I feel like whenever I open my mouth around certain people they look at me like I just said I was from Pluto.
Like when I talk about homeschooling, and how I think it’s biblical.
Or why we don’t go to youth group anymore.
Or why I don’t like President Obama.

More and more I’ve been wanting to move out to a farm. Just ditch the city and get a plot of land with a big farmhouse and a massive garden. The weather lately over here has been just beautiful. You forget how wonderful 70 degrees is until you’re in it again. I did some schoolwork outside today, and was joined by a friend.
Photobucket
Photobucket
It was gorgeous out, both today and last night.
Photobucket
Photobucket
I love doing school outside.
Photobucket

This is what happened over the weekend…

Photobucket
Nate broke his arm playing football. I was with him and daddy at the game and went with them to the hospital. They set his arm that night. He has a cast for 6 weeks. I’m proud of my brave li’l brother. 🙂

This is a rather jumbled post, so to make it more jumbled, here and here are two wonderful articles on Twilight.

2 thoughts on “Newsies.

  1. Heather says:

    Hurray for Newsies!! It’s actually the only musical I can handle. My favorite song is Seize the Day–after watching it I go around singing that song and trying (and failing miserably) to do the choreography. I suppose that’s where dance comes in nicely, huh?
    And nice work linking it to present day. You’re right.

    Like

  2. Tessa says:

    Hi!

    Nice blog!

    Ugh! My little sister broke her arm earlier this summer by falling of the propane tank!

    I broke my finger years ago playing football…..I guess I learned my lesson!

    Blessings to ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

