Not an odd sight…

… at the SoS conference.
(I wish I had pictures to go with this, but I don’t)

– cowboy boots instead of dress shoes… (this makes me laugh, but I absolutely love it. Mr. Phillips even does it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And of course you can’t forget Providence’s red boots).
– 15 passenger vans
– Handsome little boys dressed in suits
– Strollers
– Passionate speakers like Mr. Phillips, Mr. Washer, and Mr. Swanson
– Cameras everywhere

It was a great blessing to meet Ben Botkin, Mr. Phillips, Jasmine, Emily Rose, Breezy, Mr. Valenti, and John Moore. The meeting of John Moore was amusing. Luke and I decided to bond together as 2 shy people – if you’ve ever done that, you know it’s not a good idea. Mr. Sproul was right by John, so while we were waiting to talk to John, Luke pointed him out. I said “You want to talk to him?”
“You talk to him first.”
“Wait… so I have to talk to John first because I found him, but you found Mr. Sproul and I have to talk to him first? That’s bad logic.”
“Well… Here, come on.” Then he diverted by taking me to the Vision Forum table to show me the knife he wanted.

After about 5 minutes of waiting for John to finish another conversation, we went up and I said Hi, and immediately started stumbling over words, ending with “You can talk, Luke.” I can’t remember what he said, but then John said “I see you’re from Texas… whereabouts in Texas is Spring?” He said this looking at me, and I shook my head (my name tag was hidden). “I don’t know.”
Luke: “I don’t know either. Not from there….”
“But it says…” He looked at me, still thinking I must be Luke’s sister.
“Neither of us live in Texas… I’m not from Texas at all, he’s from Texas…”
“But we live in Dubai.”
“Oh, I see… so why does your name tag say Texas?”
“I don’t know.”
“Mailing address….”
“Ok…”
After talking for a few more minutes, Luke and I rushed upstairs to the breakout sessions, laughing on the way up to the escalator. So I was late a third time to a breakout session, but it was worth it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Another one I was late to was bcause I was talking to Ben Botkin. started talking to him a minute before the session started and talked to him for at least 10 minutes… again worth it.

After Church today we leave back to Dubai. I will write more once back there and after I’ve reviewed more of my notes and processed more.
But my favorite parts –
– Mr. Swanson’s keynote on education
– Mr. Phillips’s breakout on Aesthetics (after that and talking to Ben, I desperately wanted a piano)
– Talking to Ben
– Meeting Breezy and Emily. ๐Ÿ™‚

Redeemed,
Kyleigh

6 thoughts on “Not an odd sight…

  1. Ashlee says:

    Kyleigh,

    It looks like you had a delightful time this last weekend! We, as in my family, wish we could have attended, but right now, it looks like my mom should be having the baby sometime this week!

    As to your post, I can only imagine the joy you had upon meeting “famous” persons. Luke better tell me all about it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings,
    Ashlee

    Like

  2. kyleian says:

    Ezra – Yes, that would be Paul Washer. ๐Ÿ™‚ Alas, I didn’t get the chance to meet him, just as I was about to he was whisked off for some filming with the Botkins…

    Like

  3. SarahLee says:

    Kyleigh,
    I am enjoying your well-written reports of the speakers at the SoS. Thank you for taking the time to share their wisdom! We really wanted to attend this conference but it did not work out, so we are gleaning from the pictures and articles by those who did. ๐Ÿ™‚
    The vans, cameras, and cowboy boots are so funny, aren’t they?! We always laugh about that too. I am excited to hear that you were able to speak with some of the speakers…what a blessing! That is so fun.
    In Christ,
    Sarah Bryant
    http://bryantfamilyfarm.com
    http://kingsbloomingrose.com

    Like

  4. James Dunn says:

    I really should have kept up on your blog more. Sounds like the SOS conference was everything I’ve heard it was.
    …I’ve got to say, your description of yourself and Luke meeting John Moore was quite humorous. Poor guy… I wonder what it’s like to be famous (at least in some circles) and have all these nervous shy people lining up who are both determined and terrified to talk to you. What do you say to them? “Uh, hi! Um… are you from Texas?”
    I can’t begin to imagine what that’s like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

