A Homemade Christmas: 1914 Afternoon Dress

A Homemade Christmas at SimplyVintagegirl.com

(The suitcases arrived a few days ago, and I immediately got to work… all of us did).
Photobucket
(Cait quilting, me sewing hooks and eyes, and Candace crocheting while we watched The Mysterious Islands)

At the beginning of the summer, I ordered the pattern for the 1914 Afternoon Dress from Mrs. Chancey’s business, Sense and Sensibility Patterns. I’d been looking at it for a long time and finally decided to go ahead and work toward making it. I wanted to make it a light pink, but decided against it because of two things – I couldn’t find the right shade of pink… and I get things dirty SO quickly, even when I’m being extremely careful. I decided on a dark-ish green, and it’s now working out wonderfully at Christmas, because it means I have a Christmas dress! I made a red sash to go with it at Christmastime:
Photobucket

This morning we had a Christmas cookie exchange brunch at a friend’s house, which was lovely and Christmas-sy.
Photobucket
(Molasses Crinkles. My favorite cookie, especially when warm!)
Then we came home and I listened to some history lectures while crocheting these wonderful wreaths in preparation for our Christmas Tea on Tuesday. Tonight our mother-daughter ensemble is singing at a Christmas Party. Please pray for us… I don’t care if we sing well or poorly, as long as  we show Christ.

Redeemed,
Kyleigh

(those of you who are waiting for the promised Dragon post, it’s in the works. I remembered I had to do more research than I originally thought… it’s mostly written, though, but quite lengthy!)

One thought on “A Homemade Christmas: 1914 Afternoon Dress

Leave a Reply

