New Around Here…

Just a quick update on what’s new on my blog, and what’s comin’. This post is about a month late in coming, though…

You may notice the “things to read” sidebar is gone (good riddance, I say!). It was becoming disorganized and really long. You can now find all of those links (and more) on the “Articles” page. I organized it – alphabetically – by topic. The articles themselves are not alphabetical. Would it make life easier for y’all or do you not care? I’ll try to make a note in a post whenever I update it. The same goes for my book list.

About every quarter I’ll post a crafty post with pictures of the various projects I’ve been working on. Lessons From a Quilt Square will still continue. I’m way behind on it, though. Also quarterly I hope to do a music post and a book review.
Being organized helps me… does it bother you?

This coming year will probably be a mixture of posts with pictures and few words and posts with no (or few) pictures and many words. Something new I’m really excited about I actually started last week – people. Throughout the year – probably once a month, I don’t know how well I’ll be able to keep up – I’ll do a post on a Christian person who is an example to me. It might be someone still living or someone long dead.Β  The first was Stonewall Jackson, and people I’d love to do are Margaret Wilson, Horatius Bonar, Corrie Ten Boom, daddy… and someone I wish I could write about, but it may be years before I can (now I know you’re all dying to know who it is. Maybe I can tell you in person if we ever meet/see each other again).
I hope to sporadically continue with the Sufficiency of Scripture category, as things come up (I know one will come up in May. That’s all ready – daddy wrote it!)

Then there’s some undecided things… I’m wanting to change my blog address. It’s not very… feminine. My hesitancy is that I’d have to tell everyone I changed it… and that’s a pain. I also don’t know what I’d change it to. Any input is welcome. I’m also trying think of ideas for a new header. Again, I want to change it but am clueless as to what.Β  I have one idea, but I want to hear your input.
Any ideas?

Also, I know there are lots of lurkers out there. πŸ˜‰ I’d love it if you revealed yourselves.

Barakat,
Kyleigh

6 thoughts on “New Around Here…

  1. Lostariel says:

    WE’RE lurkers? Outrageous! Fabulous! Both!

    I wonder if the last person you mentioned as a Christian example to you is the one I’ve picked out to be your husband. I’ll never tell. Especially not if you don’t.

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    Being organized on blog posts sure helps me, everything sounds good!
    I personally love your address! I don’t think there’s a problem with how it sounds and the first thing it evokes to me is how you’re different than the world, walking to a different beat because you’re Christ’s child.

    Like

  3. Kyleigh says:

    Anna – No, not you… other people. You don’t make up 70 hits a day (at least, I don’t think you do…).
    As to that second comment, not at all. πŸ˜‰ There’s not a single person on the horizon right now (unless you count my cowboy, who’s 5 and wants to marry me). Hezekiah has yet to come down from his farm on Ireland. But I’m perfectly happy waiting for God’s timing. πŸ™‚

    Heather – Good. πŸ™‚ I love being organized… it helps me.
    I don’t mind the one I have now, but it’s just not very feminine… which I’d like it to be more of. I dunno… I probably won’t be able to come up with anything, anyway! πŸ™‚
    I definitely want a new header, though! Any ideas?

    Like

  4. James Dunn says:

    Hmmm…
    …you could always go with http://www.ladykyleian.wordpress.com. But perhaps you want an address that describes the way you’re willing to stand for what’s right and true and good, even if it’s unpopular and nearly all your friends disagree. Like your current address, but more feminine. Hmmm, how about http://www.oboeofadifferenttune.wordpress.com? Not that all Oboe players are women, but all the ones I’ve met are. (Which is only four or five.) So it’s at least somewhat feminine. (Although, if there was a forum for Oboe players, it would probably be less lopsided than Apricotpie, but I digress.) You might also consider the inverse: http://www.tuneofadifferentoboe.wordpress.com.
    There are probably some better suggestions, but I can’t think of any.
    As for a new header… I’m at least as clueless as you. Unless you chose to change your address to one of the Oboe suggestions… in that case you could put up that picture of you playing the Oboe in the orchestra.
    Do you have a camera with a “stitch assist” feature on it? You can use that to take several pictures next to each other and “glue” them together on the computer to make one long banner — very useful for blog headers. (That’s how I got the picture of a sunset on the Sea of Galilee over my blog, until the links stopped working.)

    Like

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Hi, Kyleigh πŸ™‚ Maybe you could make a post about what your new blog address will be, and then keep the old address for a few days so everyone will have a chance to see the new address and write it down. Then you could change it. I think something simple, like http://www.ladykyleian.wordpress.com, would work. Being organized helps me, too (though I rarely am). Have a good day, and God bless
    Laura

    Like

Leave a Reply

