What Have I to Complain About?

I’m sitting here, on a cool, beautiful Tuesday morning, after just finishing my school work and some music practice. I’m working on the computer, Les Miserables is playing in the background, and later mom, Cait, and I will read together, and I’ll probably write some. From time to time, I cough or sniffle. I have a cold that’s been bugging me for almost a week now.
And to be honest, I often complain about it.

Then I click a link… and go to Mr. Phillip’s blog. Suddenly I am ashamed I spent almost 10 dollars on pretty boxes for organizing my craft supplies. I’m ashamed that I’m complaining about a stuffy nose and half of a voice when there are people in Haiti who have no family. No home. No clean water (while I sit here and drink 3 liters of it every day).
They have no hope, but for the gospel of Jesus Christ.
For which I am thankful, and it helps me see God’s sovereignty in the earthquake in Haiti: so that His gospel could go out.  (Added later – As I prayed for Haiti as I got ready for bed at night, I prayed that God might use Haiti as an example to nations like the US that are strong physically but dying spiritually – I pray that Haiti will challenge us to seek the Lord and engage in spiritual reformation. A great comfort in reading about Haiti is knowing that there are people there who are not only bringing the gospel, but making disciples and engaging in reformation.  It is so exciting to see God getting the glory, even in this devastation!)
Other than Rescue Haiti’s Children, we follow only one other Christian team down there, a team of mostly doctors who is in Haiti to help.

I wish I could go. I wish we could adopt. I wish I could hold one of these hurting children in my arms – hold them close, cuddle them, comfort them.

There are two things I can do, though – the first is to pray. The second, is to put aside my long list of books I want to buy, the new track pants I’d like, the MIDI interface I can wait to get, and to take my piano lesson earnings and send them to Haiti – to further the spread of the gospel there.

You can donate to Rescue Haiti’s Children here.
Also, look here and here – all proceedings are going to Haiti.

So, I invite you to give. And if you can’t give monetarily, give of time spent in prayer for the people of Haiti, and for the believers (and unbelievers) who are there helping them.
We have so much beyond what we need. I think of 1 John 3, when John writes, “By this we know love, that He laid down His life for us, and ought to lay down our lives for the brothers. But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his heart against him, how does God’ s love abide in him?”

Kyleigh

2 thoughts on “What Have I to Complain About?

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Yes, what do we have to complain about? I will confess, to my shame, that I have been complaining about us getting rid of high speed internet… How silly is that? When those poor people in Haiti don’t even have good food and water, and I’m complaining about Internet speed. I do wish we could adopt, I would even give money I’ve earned at my job to adopt, and I’m planning on sending some money over there. God bless,
    Laura

    Like

  2. Margaret says:

    I completely understand how you feel. I look at the pictures on Mr. Phillips blog and I feel ashamed that I worry over such meaningless things when the people in Haiti are suffering from such tragedies. I almost feel hopeless, as if I can only sit here and feel burdened for them…yet we are reminded that the most powerful gift we can offer them is our prayers. Right here at the computer 🙂

    Have a Blessed Day!
    -Margaret

    Like

Leave a Reply

