History

I know, I know – my blog has been severely neglected. But I’ve been so busy that I just haven’t had time. The last 2 posts were scheduled, and so is the next one. I think this will be the only post in February that’s not… but in between finishing quilts, hand-quilting, baking, reading, the pursuit of God, music, teaching piano, Church, planning… there just hasn’t been the time. I shall probably start having dreams about quilting soon – with lots of babies on the way at Church, Hannah and I have been working on lots and lots of baby quilts (alright, it’s 3. But it feels like so much more!). I hope to have pictures up next month. Saturday Hannah and Joel came over and we watched Wives and Daughters with Cait while the 3 of us girls quilted (Candace was on another couch quilting another quilt…). Tuesday Joel’s mom and sister come in from the states (speaking of Joel, I never linked over to Cait’s post a while ago. I meant to, I really did – so here it is now.)

It just seems that life keeps getting busier and busier. I like this kind of busy, though – lots to do but much of it is relaxing, like quilting. I keep wanting to push aside schoolwork to get all of the other things (like writing the music for the song that appears in Faith Victorious).  Because, seriously – who wants to study anatomy when you want to be quilting and composing? (Just kidding. I love anatomy and physiology – most of the time).
I did really enjoy today, though. I finished most of my schoolwork before breakfast (we eat at 9, I get up at 7 – and it was almost all reading today). Then after breakfast I reviewed WWII with daddy, then practiced oboe and worked through two lessons of Rimsky-Korsakov’s Principles of Orchestration. After lunch I accompanied Cait when she practiced voice, and we recorded “The Minstrel Boy.” I threw the laundry in the washing machine and went upstairs to pray and read, after which I watched this video while quilting (like I said, I’m going to be having dreams about quilting soon).  Tonight I have Well Group, followed by sleep – and I am so tired!
But although I’ve enjoyed it all, the highlight today was spending an hour on the couch with daddy studying something we both love – history. As I think about World War II and the ideologies that started it, the unfinished business of World War I, the sinfulness of the world… alongside reading through II Kings, I am more and more astounded at the greatness of God. The more I study history, the more I am convinced that it is the story of God raising up and tearing down nations for His glory.
I also realize how important it is to study history the way daddy has taught us to study it. We don’t get caught up in dates and dead people (this is the first time this year I’ve had to remember dates). We don’t really study the actual battles – but we do study the ideologies that caused the battles, the worldviews that each era lived by… we read primary source documents and look at both sides.
But over the past few months the thing that has been most encouraging for me is remembering that God controls it all. The history of the world is in His hands, and He controls it for His glory, which, I, as His child, should be what I desire most.

Therefore we shall not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea… Come, behold the works of the Lord, how he has brought desolations on the earth. He makes wars cease to the end of the earth; he breaks the bow and shatters the spear; he burns the chariots with fire.
“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”
The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.
_Psalm 42_

– Kyleigh

One thought on “History

  1. Heather says:

    Yay for your sis! That’s an exciting time! Does it feel weird to have a sister whose being courted? My little sister says its exciting but kind of weird feeling at the same time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

