Face-to-Face

Only three people that I have really known have died.
The first was a woman who led a history club for girls in our homeschool group. She was older and had polio.
The second was my great aunt, who died of cancer. I never really knew her that well, but watching my mom and her side of the family suffer was terrible. For me, the hardest part was that as far as we know, she wasn’t saved.
But this third one was the one that was the hardest for me. I woke up Saturday morning and prayed, then went online. It seemed to be all over Facebook – Mr. Hinkson had died in a car crash. I knew him from Csehy – he led ministry teams and taught low brass. I remember when he was one of the many at Csehy who injured their feet or ankles in some way during the 2008 season. I remember the beautiful way that he led our group at the Nursing Home, sharing the gospel with the elderly.
At first when I read that he had died, I accepted it with passivity. He’s gone, I thought, and continued on with what I was doing.
But then I thought of his precious two year old daughter, and could not refrain from weeping. I haven’t really stopped. My prayers have been with his wife and daughter so much over the past few days, and will continue to be with them.
I wonder why it is that God had fixed that Thursday night for Mr. Hinkson to be driving on that road at that time and be hit. I wonder why He has decreed that his daughter will grow up without her papa. Why it was Mr. Hinkson and not the other driver who died.
I know that God’s plan is perfect, and that He’s going to do something awesome and mighty. I know that Mr. Hinkson did the good works that God had laid out in advance for him to do. But Mrs. Hinkson is right when she says that maybe it was Mr. Hinkson and not the other driver because the other driver didn’t have eternal life. I pray that the Lord will use this to bring the other drive to be reconciled with God. There’s a viewing and a service on Tuesday, and while I wish I could be there, I can’t. But please join me in praying that as the gospel goes out, many would repent, and that God would use Mr. Hinkson’s death to bring many into a right relationship with Him.
Tears are rolling down my cheeks right now and I know my sadness is nothing compared to that Mrs. Hinkson must have, but I am jealous of Mr. Hinkson, who is in that future glory for which I wait, and groan, and long for with all of creation.
That is why death has no victory, no sting, because to live is Christ, but to die – to die is GAIN!

It was hard to see what God would do through the devastation in Haiti, but it has been so exciting to see Him work reformation there.
It seems even harder to see what God will do through Mr. Hinkson’s death, but I know that if He can bring hope to Haiti, He most assuredly can to the Hinkson family and many, many others.

I will miss Mr. Hinkson this summer at Csehy. But I pray that his absence will turn my eyes heavenward, to long for the day when I shall see my Redeemer face-to-face. “For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then we shall see face-to-face.”

Kyleigh

3 thoughts on “Face-to-Face

  1. Heather says:

    I know what you mean–not many that I’ve been close to have died, but a couple I’ve been close have been close to death…namely Olivia last year…and its very very tough to get through that. Praying for you and Mr Hinkson’s family, Ky.

    Like

Leave a Reply

