Quilts, Hats, Cards, and Aprons

This makes me want to knit.
But this makes me thankful to crochet. ๐Ÿ™‚
Basically everything crafty I’ve done since Christmas has been baby related. I made an apron, but otherwise it was all baby hats, baby quilts, and baby afghan planning (while my big quilt lies untouched since the first week of December. I really need to get back to work on that).
But I’ve been enjoying secretly putting together baby quilts (as I told Sarah, “It’s a baby quilt for x’s baby. They don’t know about it.” After which we laughed because it sounded like I was saying they didn’t know about the baby. That would be difficult…) This baby quilt what I picked up 12 different 1/4 yard lengths of material for in December (it was comforting to see other people in line who had close to 15 bolts in their cart).ย  It took us (Hannah and I) less than 2 hours to cut 144 2 1/4″ x 6″ rectangles, then about 3 hours to sew them all together. Then we pieced some old batting scraps, cut the backing, cut the binding, pinned, and sewed. A few weeks ago she came over and we watched a movie while we hand-quilted. Here’s one picture now, but the rest shall come with a lesson later. ๐Ÿ˜‰
Photobucket

And hats. I knew how to crochet in a circle before I knew how to crochet a square, because I learned to make baby hats for a crisis pregnancy center. Well, there isn’t a crisis pregnancy center here, but there are lots of pregnant women at Church. ๐Ÿ™‚ Here are some of the hats I’ve made, modeled by one of Candace’s dolls, which she was very kind to let me use:
Photobucket
The one on the far left was made from a ball of dark blue silver-flecked yarn I got in a little town in Germany last summer. I knew I wouldn’t have enough to make myself anything, and didn’t want to give it away. So I made a hat for my hope chest. ๐Ÿ™‚
The one on the far right was for the newest daughter of one of the staff at Church, who I’ve gotten to hold twice since she was born. She is so precious. ๐Ÿ™‚

While Hannah and I were searching for good fabric for the quilt on the JoAnn’s website, I saw this print:
Photobucket
… and thought it would make a perfect apron, with a jean pocket and heart applique. I’ve yet to find the right shade of jean (or any blue, really), so there’s no pocket yet. Before we went to the states I traced a pattern off of another apron and figured out how much fabric I’d need. Here’s the apron so far…
Photobucket

Birthday cards for the “week of birthdays” in February:
PhotobucketIn the past two weeks I’ve been crocheting my afghan (which is inching along…) and finishing up the last few squares of my quilt.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚
Meanwhile, we’re off to Lebanon today. ๐Ÿ™‚

Kyleigh

One thought on “Quilts, Hats, Cards, and Aprons

  1. Your Face says:

    i recognize the green card! looks kinda familiar…=) i love the quilt! hannah showed me the one with the quilted hearts. youre right that the back looks better, but its still beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

