Lessons From A Quilt Square: Colorful Baby Quilts

Photobucket

This is the first quilt we made, for the R’s baby boy (though we were tempted to keep it, it turned out so beautifully. 😉 ) We cut all 144 2 1/2 by 6″ rectangles in less than two hours, only to sew the first set together and find out that our measurements were off.
Photobucket
We spent a while muddling our brains, figuring out how to fix it (the ‘what went wrong’ was easy… we calculated the length finished, but the width unfinished). Eventually we trimmed off the excess on the sides. As we sat at the table with our rotary cutters and cutting mats, slicing off little bits of material, I thought of how (again) quilting is like sanctification. I have so much in me that needs to be gotten rid of… and God is getting rid of it as He sanctifies me.
“The flame shall not hurt thee/I only design/Thy dross to consume/And thy gold to refine.”
It doesn’t hurt the quilt to make the squares right – it only refines it. It feels tedious, but only makes it better.
Photobucket
God doesn’t leave us in our sin, but saves us from it and sanctifies us to make us more like we were meant to be – more like Him.

Photobucket

hearts chalked on and ready for quilting

Photobucket

the template

When we finished the first quilt, we noticed that we had enough material leftover to make another quilt – and one exactly the same, for the Neal’s baby girl (who was born just over a week ago and who I got to hold on Monday! She’s precious!)

We were about to cut – in fact, we were working on figuring out the exact measurement so we wouldn’t have to trim pieces again – when Hannah realized we didn’t have quite enough material to make a second quilt. So we took what we had and made use of it. It was a very simple quilt, but we realized simplicity isn’t bad – and because it was so simple, we quilted hearts on it instead of lines.

Personally, I like this one better. And it reminded me that more intricate isn’t always better. Making do with simplicity and what you have can be just as beautiful – sometimes moreso.

“Better is a dry morsel with quiet than a house full of feasting with strife.”
– Proverbs 17:1

PS – I know this blog has been neglected of late… at least it seems like that to me. I’ve been so busy lately – I have one and a half weeks left of school (ever!), I’m trying to get lots of quilting in, compose, write, and work out things for the summer.  We’re in the midst of graduation party plans, at the beginning of wedding plans… but today was relaxing: I had no music lessons (giving or taking), finished school quickly, went to prayer group – a wonderful time of prayer, sandwiched in between helping Hannah with her photography class – and she took my senior pictures. I came home and spent a while reading and praying… and now I’m blogging and trying to decide on a notation program…

One thought on “Lessons From A Quilt Square: Colorful Baby Quilts

  1. Ezra says:

    1 and 1/2 weeks of school left for me as well, although I have maritime license tests to take afterward (kind of like bar exams). My father has spoken at all three of my family’s high school graduations so far. It’s really special.

    Like

Leave a Reply

