Lessons from a Quilt Square: Ships

Photobucket

PhotobucketThis is my favorite square. I love the colors, I love ships, I love how quick this one was to sew and quilt. I guess you could say it was “smooth sailing.” It really felt like that, after I’d worked so hard for so long and then had something easy. I wonder how easy it would’ve been if I’d started with it, though.
I grew so much over the process of making this quilt. I learned so much about patience and precision and the importance of triple checking and doing things right the first time… but also Mrs. C’s frequent “If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing badly at first.” By the time I got here, I’d gotten so used to doing things over and fixing problems before they happened that it felt easy.
Growing is painful sometimes. But without growth, life would just seem to get more and more painful and we’d never move on to greater things.

“The flame shall not hurt thee/I only design/Thy dross to consume/And thy gold to refine.”

-Kyleigh

Leave a Reply

