Home

We got home about a week ago.  I was hoping to have pictures and videos on photobucket and youtube by now, but neither were cooperating. Maybe I’ll try Picasa and Vimeo for a change. They seem slightly more sophisticated. I have lots of drafts in my blog drafts that are supposed to have been done by now. Oh well.

Anna awarded me about two months ago, and I’m just now doing something about it (can you tell how behind I am?). The award is the “Stylish blogger award,” and I’m supposed to list 5 random things about me, then award 5 people.
The 5 random things:
1. I broke a piano string yesterday…on my first day of trying to tune the piano… but it’s ok, I’ll learn how to fix it.
2. I devoured two novels this week. I haven’t done that in a long time, but they were really good: “Guns of Providence,” by Douglas Bond, and “Glory, Duty, and the Gold Dome,” by T. Nathaniel Darnell. Rich, beautiful, riveting words.
3. 94 degrees is the perfect temperature for me to run in.  My lungs don’t get overworked because of the cold, but it’s not so hot that my face turns beet red.
4. I’m realizing I need to pray even more than I already do, and God’s already working that in me, thanks to a sleepless night (“When you are wakeful at night, God wants to you pray. Commune with God.” – Douglas Bond, in Guns of Providence), a very, very, good article (go read it now!), a friend’s status on Facebook (talking about praying FIRST then doing), and another good book I got for my birthday (Preparing to be a Helpmeet, by Mrs. Pearl)
5. My favorite way to celebrate my birthday is to wake up in my own bed after 2 months away, planning and helping to cook a meal of my choice (homemade wholewheat Spatzle, among other things!), family worship, and simple gifts.

I shall award…
Autumn
Carolyn @ A Song of Joy
Heather
James
Emily Elizabeth @ My Life Belongs to Him
… though really everyone whose blog I read (and I need to update my blog list!) deserves it!

… and those take care of a lot of what I was going to say! 🙂 I’ve been busy getting back into a routine, sleeping, cooking, practicing, composing, playing with Sibelius, piano tuning, and reading. I’ve been planning some for our garden (though I’m trying to convince my family having a container garden would be easier and more practical here) – I want to plant cucumbers, tomatoes, rosemary, basil, and mint, for sure. I don’t want to do too much our first year when we’re still testing how it all goes. Candace would like pumpkins. Zucchini sounds like it would grow well here. I’d love to have lavender, but that won’t work here.  We still have to figure out planting seasons.  When Gramma and Grampa come out for the wedding, they’ll be bringing a short nutrition book, a more modern version of one I read while I was at their house, called “Supermarket Nutrition.”  The book they’re bringing and one we have here will be the start of my official nutrition studies, which will be paired with some herbology and alternative medicine. I’m so excited just thinking about it.

Cait and Joel’s wedding is in 20 days. Arielle arrives tonight, and then we need to get busy finishing the favors and making centerpieces.

As I’ve been doing some composition work, I’ve been looking through what I wrote at camp. It brings back so many memories to look through it:
Mr. Schwamb teasing me about Stonewall Jackson (who the piece is dedicated to), hearing tremelos for the first time on Finale and thinking there was construction going on outside, the first practice in the recital hall, David laughing when I’d called him “Mr. David S.” on the paper, the most frustrating 20 minutes of my life when we thought the file had been lost, when Mr. Schwamb listened to part of the accompaniment and said it sounded like the composer ran out of ideas (which was entirely true), spending what seemed like forever trying to plug in a mouse with Tim… all the laughter and frustration and work and tears and getting up early to go to the music building with Rochelle and/or Kaylin… each page of music, sometimes each measure, has memories.
It may not be the best piece of music, but it’s so precious to me.
… already I have other pieces underway – a lullaby I posted on AP needs some spiffing up, and I’m putting final touches on “12 Variations on 4 O’Clock.” … still trying to figure out a way I can make recordings available if you want to hear. Then there’s the 7 movement Aggadah, which I have really got to get moving on before the idea just dies away. I’d love to write a battle theme, and a piece for oboe, violin, and piano that Nate, Candace, and I could play together…

There’s just so much right now – so much to do, so much I want to do, so much feeling, so much richness, so much prayer, so much love, so much music.

Kyleigh

3 thoughts on “Home

  1. James says:

    Glad to hear you’ve gotten the course for Piano Tuning. Don’t feel bad about the piano string — I’ve broken quite a few of those already! How old is the piano you’re working on?

    Like

    • kyleian says:

      I did award you, but you don’t have to pass it on if you don’t wish to.
      I’m treading quite lightly now when I tune… especially making sure I don’t do stupid things like have the mute on the wrong string – which is why I broke a string. The piano is about a year old. And it’s a big pain. They messed up the soft pedal – instead of moving the hammers closer to the strings like most pianos do, a piece of felt drops down – but it gets in the way when I’m trying to tune and I have no idea how to get it off. So I haven’t really tuned much in the treble section because I can’t get a mute in there. I have trouble getting the mutes to stay in the first place – any advice? And then something else I had a question about was that when I’ve tuned the unisons on one, then play it, it’ll play some, but then there will be a bit of a dead sound, like a string is still muted or something, even if it’s not. Maybe they’ll address that later, I don’t know. I’ve taken the first test but still want to do another hour or so of tuning the unisons before I move on. I heard the beats pretty quickly after I figured out it’s not a ringing sound but like vibrato.
      And it’s wonderful to know now why so many old pianos sound like they’re out of tune with themselves when you just play one note.

      Like

Leave a Reply

