Too Involved?

I don’t watch sports very much. I watch Nate’s games, and I watch baseball with Grampa, but that’s about it. There’s a good reason why, which I remembered while watching the final of the World Cup.
I get too into the game. I’ll shout, and cheer, and grip the edge of my seat, ‘talk’ to the players… even though they may be halfway across the world and I’m watching from a screen.
Sports isn’t the only place that happens.

I like to keep an eye on politics. I find political cartoons to be side-splitting-ly funny. I enjoy hearing others’ political views.
Maybe it’s because I like feeling different so much, and my view on politics always makes me feel different, even in some Christian circles. My views come from scripture: the earth is God’s (Psalm 24:1), governmental authority is instituted by God and we must submit unless it goes against scripture (Romans 13:1-7), and that the purpose of government is to reward the good and punish those who do evil (1 Peter 2:13-25). {And I do see that last one to mean that anything other than rewarding the good and punishing evil is going beyond their God-given boundaries}
Yet even with the reminder that “the earth is the LORD’s and the fullness thereof,” I often forget that He is sovereign over it all… it’s so easy for me to get caught up in the interests of this world and act as if my life depended upon whether or not the health care bill passed.
I’m thankful for the reminders that get me back on track: here are some of them:
A blog post by James
No King But Jesus (Mr. Chancey) (Which I can’t find now. 😦 )
5 Things that Will Never Change (Mr. Phillips)

… also the political views of some of my friends on Facebook:
“My interests are not in this kingdom.”
“The King of kings and Lord of lords is the almighty authority.”

Jesus is Lord. We need not fear what happens on this earth, if our souls rest in His salvation. Our pursuit and interest should be in the Kingdom of Heaven, not the kingdom of man.
Reform the earth, yes. Be captivated by its politics?
No.

Leave a Reply

