Sky of January Blue

Well, alright. The sky isn’t blue very often in January here, at least not this January. We had a few days of rain, and days of foggy-looking sandstorm-waiting weather. We got caught in a tropical-storm speed sandstorm while we were driving one day. It was terrifying and wonderful at the same time – the terror of feeling the car shake, but the wonder of seeing God’s might and glory displayed in wind, cloud, and sand.
… but when the sky is blue in the winter here, it’s BLUE.


New Year’s at the M’s. Mongolian Barbeque, movies, games, laughter, fellowship, food, star gazing.

Mini-marshmallows on a stick.


Gardening. January’s gardening consisted of thinning pumpkin sprouts, transplanting tomatoes, transplanting aloe, and digging up ugly dying plants and replacing them with their sprouts. We only have 1 cucumber sprout that’s come up, out of 12 planted. No zucchini have come up. The rosemary won’t spread, we don’t know if our lavender is lavender… but the garlic is still thriving, the tomatoes are growing, and so is the basil. No sign of the strawberry experiment. And we still can’t find mint.


Angela arrived! I only took 3 pictures when she was with us… we were too busy doing other things, like running, eating, reminiscing, laughing, talking, and opening scripture.


Texan much? 😀


Making cupcakes for Hannah’s birthday.

We finally had rain!

Kitty hiding on our porch


Beautiful weather, afternoons at the park, reading and walking, mornings running and babysitting.

And birdwatching, which is why I had my camera with me. But hoopoes don’t seem to come around in the afternoons.

Baby quilts:

A trip to the Logos Hope. ‘Twas interesting, that’s all I’ll say here.




And it made me realize that even though I love being at sea, being at sea for that long would drive me nuts.

We spent time with Joel and Cait.
I finished the Aggadah, goal for the year complete! But… I finished Aggadah for piano, and while finishing it, I realized I’d love it for string quintet. So it’s not really done.
Editing Love Victorious is underway. I read “Nourishing Traditions” this month for nutrition, and am now researching the validity of some of her claims. I read “How God Wants us to Worship Him,” and “Letters to Malcolm” and desperately need to update my “Books” page.
I sprained my ankle. It was hard for me to be still for so long. 😉

We went shoe shopping. Worst form of torture ever invented, but my tennis shoes were giving me blisters when I went running. So now I have proper running shoes. It was nasty trying to find them. We went to a few stores. Then I went to the Addidas store and said “I have a wide toe and thin heel, and need a pair of running shoes.”
And I found my running shoes. I ran in them this morning; it was beautiful.
Thank you, Lord, for Adilite Tempo. They fit well, aren’t clunky, breathe well, and are bright red to boot.

We spent the last day of January on the beach. No pictures there, but it was fun. Us, the M’s, and the Neals. The day consisted of climbing, running, swimming, throwing sandballs, and playing with crabs, as well as sitting and talking.

“Jesus, Priceless Treasure,” was the most frequently sung hymn this month, for lots of reasons. These verses especially, I found myself boldly singing them almost every day.
“Satan, I defy thee;
Death, I now decry thee;
Fear, I bid thee cease.
World, thou shalt not harm me
Nor thy threats alarm me
While I sing of peace.
God’s great power guards every hour;
Earth and all its depths adore Him,
Silent bow before Him.

Evil world, I leave thee;
Thou canst not deceive me,
Thine appeal is vain.
Sin that once did bind me,
Get thee far behind me,
Come not forth again.
Past thy hour, O pride and power;
Sinful life, thy bonds I sever,
Leave thee now forever.”

With regard to the various resolutions I had, spoken and unspoken, after one month of striving and prayer, what I have to say is that it often gets worse before it gets better, as God reveals more and more sin to you as you become more and more like Him.

Please be praying… I have Mozart Concerto Concert February 24th. Please pray that all the glory will go to God, and that He would bless my playing! I’m currently really nervous, but know there’s no reason to be, because it’s in God’s hands and He’s more than worthy of my trust.
“I fear no foe with Thee at hand to bless.”

I feel like this post is rushed and there should be more to it. Ah, well. Maybe I’ll edit it later with more.

– Kyleigh

P.S. – Check out “Immolation” from the Schindler’s List soundtrack. I’ve yet to see the movie (but really really want to) but the soundtrack is INCREDIBLE, and Immolation is the best.

4 thoughts on “Sky of January Blue

  1. Arielle says:

    So lovely to hear about your January and see photos of some familiar places and faces! Your photography is wonderful! Give you family a big hug from me! I’m getting ready to write a “real” letter to you!

    Love,
    Arielle

    Like

  2. WA says:

    I’m sorry, I was wrong. I had seen a link that said Schindler’s list Full Movie part 1. But it has been removed due to copyright infringement.

    Sorry about that :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

