Schindler’s List

Mommy and I finished watching Schindler’s List on Sunday night. Apart from a few scenes we skipped, I really enjoyed it. As we drew near the end, I was thinking “it’s not as powerful as I expected,” but after the ending I changed my mind.
… But it’s a good thing it’s black-and-white. The soundtrack is amazing, especially the choir pieces (John Williams). Spielberg is a genius. Liam Neeson is an incredible actor. But one of the things I enjoyed most was seeing Schindler change over the course of the movie, from someone who just wanted to make money to someone who really cared about saving lives, and sacrificed an incredible amount to do so. It’s interesting how his first goal helped to meet the second…
Normally when I watch movies, I crochet or sew. This time I didn’t have any handiwork, so I grabbed a piece of scratch paper (hence the typed words at the top) and started doodling. It kind of became more than a doodle, and holds a lot of my thoughts after the movie – these and immense thankfulness for men like Schindler, and wondering if I would do the same.

Explanation of the drawing:
Auschwitz is on the upper left. The watch represents the things Schindler sold to get Jews out. The candle was a recurring theme in the movie (as was smoke). 1,100 is the number of Jews Schindler saved. The names on the star of David are Jewish (and German-Jewish) names, some of which were mentioned in the movie.
“Brinnlitz” and “Hope” are for Schindler’s factory. There’s a train car in the background. The other building is from the camp the Jews were in after the ghetto. 1244 isn’t a representative number, but a number one of the Jews had in a camp.
Then there’s the little girl in the red coat, almost the only color in the whole movie.
And the Hebrew says “Never Again.” (added after finding out what’s written on his vest after watching this incredible video).
The other quotes: “There will be generations because of what you did.” “This list is life.” “Whoever saves one life saves the world entire.” Some of the text is written partially in German script.

Leave a Reply

