June Letters and Glory

{Some letters to things and people that happened in June}
Dear neighbor’s cats: If I could have cats like you, I don’t think I’d mind cats. You’re cuddly, sweet, and not high-maintenance.

Dear Miah: You’re hilarious. 🙂 Drinking the honey bear’s guts? Well, as long as you have your honey for your cough.
Dear Ellie: I wish you could stay for four weeks, too.  And… “Well… I don’t think that’ll be much fun, or what.”
Dear Bethan: I can’t say I miss your crying, but I miss when you think you’re funny and when you cuddle. And how you love the piano so much, and the dog and making faces with me in the mirror.


Dear All of you kiddos: I loved having you at my house for 3 days. Yes, it was exhausting, but it was worth it.

Dear piano students: You were fabulous at the recital.

Dear Dubai Chamber Orchestra: I had so much fun playing with you, especially the Mozart Sextet. Thank you. And I really hope I can play with you for the Dvorak Serenade  in November.

Dear Mr. Tolkien: You’re a genius. I forget how incredible Lord of the Rings is when I’m not reading it. And it’s a good lesson in Point of View. And description. And what to use instead of -ly words. And incredible plants and payoffs. And just everything. I forget all of the examples and life lessons and spiritual lessons contained in LotR. I never want it to end when I’m reading it. (And Mr. Lewis, too. Your essays in “The Weight of Glory” are so good).

Dear little kids: What is it about how you eat food that’s so photogenic?

Dear self: Stop being so excited about the summer that you can’t sleep at night. Oregon won’t come any faster if you don’t sleep.

Dear dragons:I’m kinda-sorta re-thinking you. Not changing my conclusion, mind you, just understanding it’s less of a moral issue than I’d thought it before. I don’t want to presume either way that animals can be inherently bad. That said, I’ll tell you just what I think if you now, but in the words of someone who says it better than me: “even though I’m not dead-set against dragons being good in fantasy, I’ve always thought it was a little weird — and, as you point out, it has traditionally always been portrayed as an evil monster in legends, and the Bible frequently uses it in one form or another to represent Satan… It’s a reversal of long tradition in literature, a tradition that God himself made use of. It give me pause. And then prompts me to ask, “why bother making dragons good… what’s so great about that anyway?”
Taking something that represents evil and making it good is my issue… more than inherent evil in the creature. Which, to me, in an alternate universe is still wrong and starts to shade the difference between right and wrong. If it was just cultural, I wouldn’t have an issue, but it’s also in scripture, and if you start thinking ‘dragon = good,’ and then read ‘dragon = Satan’ in scripture it starts to confuse and blur lines… but you already knew I thought that about you; I just wanted to re-consider my position slightly.

Dear camera: Does your lens have to be so big? I’m really sorry I got frozen yogurt on you. But now I have a lens converter to protect you. And even though your flash is hard to control, you stole someone else’s flash at the baptisms on the 3rd, and this beautiful picture resulted:

Dear God: Thank you for the little things in life, like giggly little girls splashing in the bathtub and Bethan falling asleep on my lap and the silly things ‘Miah says. And that it wasn’t too hot the morning our electricity was off, and that the kids thought it was a game. And that Mr. and Mrs. Y could go visit friends and we could watch their kids. Thank you that Anna’s ticket was cheaper the second day, even though it was frustrating that we couldn’t buy it the first. And that we didn’t plan for me to go to Csehy week one, because my sinuses probably would have exploded on the plane. And for Christ’s atonement making it so we don’t need a veil to see Your glory (but that’s not a little thing). I don’t deserve any of it.

Dear Rosie: Twenty-nine more days! 🙂 (the days seem to get longer as the numbers go down. But it’s only 29 now. ONLY. I can’t wait).

Dear Facebook: I’m glad I took a week off of you. I got the concerts and recitals over with well, and my quilt finished, the other quilt assembled, editing pictures, and beginning “Love Victorious” editing (there are now four extra chapters, gryphons, and a more developed world). And now I’ve realized that if I log out, I won’t be on nearly as much. (Duh, Kyleigh)

Dear Anna: This summer is going to be amazing. We’ll have to do a late-night New Testament. And take long walks while meditating on the glory of God. And sing, and explore, and eat. And road-trip to Oregon to see Rosie-dear and go to the Rebelution conference.

Dear Les Mis: I still can’t believe you’re going to be at 5th Avenue in Seattle. And that we have tickets to go.

Dear Pacific Northwet: I’ll be there soon. Please save some rain for me; I miss it.

Dear filmmakers: Put Spielberg, Williams, Perlman, and Neeson together, and you get an amazing movie. Though there were some scenes that didn’t need to be there. Even still, Schindler’s List is one of my favorites.

Dear Emirates: Tonight I fly with you again! 🙂

Dear Nate: I’m so glad you can finally come with me to Csehy! I’m looking forward to having you as a traveling companion.

Dear Mommy and Candace: Making pasta a few weeks ago was so much fun. 🙂

Dear Highland Games: I’m sad I’m going to miss you this year, especially after watching some of the Glasgow Worlds DVD with Miah and Ellie. But I’m going to Oregon instead.

Dear Hannah: I’m so excited you were baptized. 🙂 And for the encouragement you always are to me. Love you.

… and with that, my blogging break begins. 🙂 I’m planning on not blogging during our time in the states, but I may pop in every so often. So I leave you with these thoughts for the summer: meditating on His glory.
I’d been meaning to start meditating on His glory (Psalm 145:5)  for years. But I never got disciplined enough to do it (and still aren’t as disciplined as I’d like to be). I began with Romans 3:23, and how our sin is falling short of His glory – His glory is the standard. And I considered that for a while. The next few nights I spent in 2 Corinthians.
My two favorite passages in the Bible right now are 2 Corinthians 3:7-18, and 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

“Now if the ministry of death, carved in letters on stone, came with such glory that the Israelites could not gaze at Moses’ face because of its glory, which was being brought to an end, will not the ministry of the Spirit have even more glory? For if there was glory in the ministry of condemnation,the ministry of righteousness must far exceed it in glory. Indeed, in this case, what once had glory has come to have no glory at all, because of the glory that surpasses it. For if what was being brought to an end came with glory, much more will what is permanent have glory.
Since we have such a hope, we are very bold, not like Moses, who would put a veil over his face so that the Israelites might not gaze at the outcome of what was being brought to an end. But their minds were hardened. For to this day, when they read the old covenant, that same veil remains unlifted, because only through Christ is it taken away. Yes, to this day whenever Moses is read a veil lies over their hearts. But when one turns to the Lord, the veil is removed. Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.”

“So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”

There are so many things in life right now that are not easy (driving, piano tuning, and being sick and losing my voice, for example). But in perspective: they’re light and momentary afflictions… and they’re transforming me from glory to glory, to prepare me for the weight of His glory. Does that fuel worship? (As Ellie would add, “Or what?”)
Have a think about all that this summer. 🙂

Pro Christo,
Kyleigh

2 thoughts on “June Letters and Glory

  1. Laura says:

    Funny, I was just thinking about dragons in fantasy yesterday, or maybe it was today. And I just took a video of James eating a graham cracker. It’s so fun to watch babies eat 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

