Never Cease to Praise

There’s a lot going on lately (and I don’t just mean weddings weddings weddings, though that’s been there). I mean in between the weddings, engagement parties, wedding rehearsals, and wedding showers – things I can and can’t do because of pain in my thumbs, looking at things in a new way because of that and because of New Years and books I’m reading.
In short, I can’t type much or do really anything with music at the moment, though I am slowly adding things back. Knitting and tuning may have to stop permanently. But I’ve appreciated the time I’ve had to read and study (jungle stories, confessions, catechisms, new kinds of music, beholding His glory, martyrdom, fear of man, creeds, It’s (Not That) Complicated, Worldliness), and to not be worried about ‘getting lists done’ (getting over that addiction) because there are no lists to get done because I can’t really do anything. So that’s helpful for building relationships and really enjoying all the social events – and they came at a wonderful time because I’ve been wanting to grow in conversation with people and have been striving to work on that.
I’ve been doing the photo-a-day challenge and have resolved to learn how to use my flash well this year so I’m not powerless when it comes to taking pictures inside. Maybe a few times a month I’ll post those pictures here.
I ran an 8K race the other day, on the heels of singing “Never Cease to Praise” at church the night before, and found the song to be really pertinent to a lot that’s going on right now. Thoughts, prayers, struggles – all of them.
May these lyrics bless you, too.

May we run this race, may we keep the faith; May our eyes be fixed on Jesus-
That we’ll not lose heart in our struggle with sin, And through suffering know endurance.

May we arm ourselves with the mind of Christ-To rejoice in trials and be not surprised.
May our hearts be so consumed by You That we never cease to praise!

May the words we share be Your grace and peace; May our tongues speak Your proclamations-
That the many parts of the body of Christ Be affirmed in their right relation.

As we long and wait for the groom to come, May we learn to love, and spur each other on.
May our hearts be so consumed by You That we never cease to praise!

When that day arrives, and the race is won, When our griefs give way to deliverance.
We will fully know as we’re fully known, All our groans will end as new songs begin.

And a multitude from every tribe and tongue, Wearing robes of white, will stand before Your throne,
And our hearts will be so consumed by You That we never cease to praise!

Pro Christo,
Kyleigh

One thought on “Never Cease to Praise

Leave a Reply

