March + 2 reviews


I love watching this girl eat.


I asked her if her shoes were uncomfortable and she said no.


And I asked her to teach me to make salad dressing and she said yes.


Peanut butter.


One of Cait’s old fashioned hats.

Our cousins came to visit! 🙂

A molting lizard in the desert


Every inch of my face was covered in sand because of the wind at the peak of the dune. This is down a little lower. The climb was incredibly tiring, but the view at the top was worth it.


Stars and planets.
“His law he enforces, the stars in their courses
And sun in its orbit obediently shine;
The hills and the mountains, the rivers and fountains,
The deeps of the ocean proclaim him divine.”


In Deira souks.




yes, thank you, I’d like some olive lives.




Fahaidi Fort


Birds of Prey show







Heavy!


soda bread for St. Patty’s.


Our Newsboy.


I love this picture so much. ^


Spring Ball.

church picnic!


Hannah and Joy playing.

Hope’s birthday. 🙂

Hiding one of her presents.

Mr. N and Joy.

The older boys.

I really cannot believe we’re already 1/4 of the way through the year. The joke of April Fool’s this year is that it’s already April.

And here are a couple of quick reviews about two albums I’ve listened to (though I listened to one of them in April).
Atonement Shai Linne
I’d sent the links to my blog posts on music to a man in our church, and he told me he’d listened to The Attributes of God and also to Atonement. And said I should listen to Atonement, so I did. While the words weren’t as striking to me (though I didn’t listen to it with the words in front of me, like I did with Attributes), it was just as solid and musically beautiful as The Attributes of God – and I loved the preaching interludes and story-flow of it.

13 Letters 116 Clique
Andrew recommended this one to us. It goes through the 13 epistles of Paul… in rap, with lots of different artists. I didn’t care for all of it. There are some rappers I like better than others. In general, I like it better when the words are more prominent than the beat. In some of the songs there was too much going on (like people saying two different things at once in a way that didn’t really fit), or the background was too loud. But the words were really good – again, some better than others. Some are basically sections of the letters put to rhyme. Others take more creative license. My favorites are Gospel Music (Romans), This is My Heart (2 Corinthians), and It’s Yours (2 Timothy), but the lyrics are all good, though they have varying degrees of slang put in (not that it’s wrong, but often I feel like it’s a bit irreverent, like in My City (Ephesians). Though maybe it’s normal to call everyone cat or dog and maybe homie is a huge compliment… but even so, calling Paul “my dog” and the Lord “homie”… I have a huge problem with).
So the short of it is that I enjoyed the meditations 13 Letters provided, and often the ‘music’ that went with it. Even if you don’t like rap, look up the words to it and Atonement and think about them for a while. 🙂

And in the near future, I think I have a book review and some thoughts on grace coming. But before I post this, I wanted to ask my readers to pray for my cousin, Kristen.
She’s a year and a few months older than me, and since she was little, she’s had trouble eating. More recently, though, she hadn’t been able to absorb  the nutrients from her food. She was in and out of the hospital a lot with pain and was loosing weight. They’ve basically gotten her stomach to work again, but she’s still vomiting, in a lot of pain and may be developing immunity to some of the pain medications she’s on. Her weight is back up and her stomach is working, but not very well. It’s been a long trial already. Please be praying for her if you think of it.

Pro Christo,
Kyleigh

One thought on “March + 2 reviews

Leave a Reply

