Tagged by Anna!

Just for fun. 🙂

11 Facts.
1. Anna was talking about her fascination with hands… so here’s my fascination: mouths. I love teeth and jaws and seeing the different ways they move and especially the way different accents seem to use their mouths differently. (No, I have no aspirations to be a dentist). I don’t like teeth that are perfectly straight – they’re too perfect.
2. I have trouble playing an octave on the piano.
3. I hated poetry until I started reading what people on Apricotpie wrote (the hatred was a mix of reading pointless stuff, having to analyze meter, and Cait’s obsession with it. The change happened when I started reading deeper poetry).
4. I often get hungry an hour after I eat.
5. I’ve lived outside the US for 8 years total (so pardon me when I’m unpatriotic. It’s not that I don’t like America, I’m just not used to being patriotic. The photographer at camp grew up in Austria and we were talking one night in the oboe section about how it takes both of us a moment to remember to stand and put our hands over our hearts when the National Anthem is played).
6. At the moment, Isaiah is my favorite book of the Bible, Isaiah 40 is my favorite chapter, and Isaiah 33:22 is my favorite verse.
7. I did my hair in inside out/dutch braids before I saw the Hunger Games.
8. Brass is my favorite instrument family to write for, ever since a friend at camp commissioned a tuba solo last year.
9. I get motion sick in turbulence on planes, start-stop traffic, switchbacks, and sometimes on trains. But when those aren’t happening, I can read as much as I want.
10. I like Nerf wars, and I think the Jolt is the best Nerf gun.
11. I didn’t like the Avengers. I wasn’t planning on it, but everyone was so hyped up about it and said it was so good. It was the only movie I watched on the plane… because I fell asleep, and because I had 50 pages of a story to edit and 50 measures to write for concert band, and a brass quartet to input into Sibelius – suddenly even 12 hours doesn’t seem like enough time).
Maybe I was expecting too much of it, or maybe the fact that I was punching in notes for a euphonium while watching made it less interesting and harder to follow, but I didn’t really like the movie. I found it very difficult to follow (but then, I don’t know the backstories of anyone but Captain America, Thor, and Loki). But mostly, I felt that character development was poor. That generally happens when you have a lot of main characters and a short film. Movies like Cranford and Barchester Chronicles can pull it off, because they’re 7 hours long. A 2 hour movie can’t.
There wasn’t a lot of depth. Oh, sure, they push past their selfishness to work together, but they were still working rather independently (now the Incredibles – there’s teamwork). But I didn’t gain anything from watching it (except to confirm that if I have to have a favorite superhero, it’s Captain America. I find that funny since I’m not incredibly patriotic – but he has some good quotes). And Captain America’s quote was the main thing I took away from the movie, that was funny but also had some weight to it:
“There’s only one God, and I don’t think he dresses like that!”
{/tirade}

11 Answers.
1. If you could meet your death at the hand of any fictional character, who would be your worthy opponent? The Dread Pirate Roberts, perhaps.
2. What kind of character would you be in a science fiction epic? The one who saves the world when the power goes out, since I’m old-fashioned enough to know how to use books and candles.
3. If you decided to be a super villain, would you win? Why or why not? I would want to win, because, well, nobody wants to lose, but I would lose, because that’s what villains do.
4. Pick a plant – tree, flower, herb, or something else flora. Now character sketch: What is his/her personality as a human? Columbine. Elegant, refined, graceful, eccentric.
5. What’s an unpopular opinion you hold about music? I don’t like rock and often have more than just “not liking” opinions about it. Also sadly unpopular is that I love classical music. But in classical circles I’m the odd one out because I don’t really like opera. Sorry. I just don’t do that much vibrato.
6. What do you do with notebooks/sketchpads/journals/diaries/similar once you’ve filled them up? They go in my closet or bookshelf. Some of the old ones I tore pages out of and threw the pages away or threw the rest of it away.
7. Your doorbell rings. Surprise! It’s me! What is your first thought/action? I would sweep you up in a massive hug… and then wonder how you crossed the ocean without me knowing.
8. What book/movie/show do you love that you wouldn’t recommend to anyone else? I don’t usually love things I wouldn’t recommend to others, but although I love Hornblower and Schindler’s List, they always come with “but you gotta skip…”
9. You offer a shivering eight-year-old stranger your coat. She smiles at you, and you’re not sure if it’s a nice smile or a cruel smile, and runs away. You stick your hands in your pockets only to find something in them that wasn’t there before. What is it? A half-eaten lollipop was what entered my head first.
10. What is the loveliest voice to fall asleep to? A month ago, I was drifting off to sleep hearing my friend Michaela sing and play guitar. It went out her window, floated across the midnight air, and in to mine. I wish I had a recording, because it was so beautiful and calming.
11. Did you ever get excited when you found out two people you know (or know of) know each other? If so, who? Yes. I know there’s been more than this recently, but the other night I realized Dr. Hsu went to 10th Presbyterian and that’s where Paul Tripp and Phil Ryken go… which means they probably knew Dr. Hsu. That just blew my mind, that they knew him, too. Small world.

I’m not tagging anybody, but if you see this and want to answer my questions (some or all) just leave a comment or drop me an email – I want to hear your answers. 🙂

11 Questions.
1. Where do you want to go most in the world, and why?
2. What’s your favorite month, and why?
3. Best childhood memory?
4. What’s your favorite tradition – for birthday, holiday, etc.?
5. If you could speak any language fluently, what would it be?
6. What’s your favorite quote – silly or serious?
7. What’s your favorite way to wake up?
8. If you could be anyone in the Bible, who would you be, and why?
9. Does anyone else think 11 is a really random number for this?
10. What’s your favorite city and why?
11. Introduce me to a good song. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Tagged by Anna!

  1. Laura says:

    1. I was going to say Heaven, but… I suppose my dream has always been the Swiss Alps. I’d love to stay on a mountain for a week or two in the spring 😀
    2. April. Because it’s my birth month and it generally has the best weather in the year.
    3. Hmm. Probably going to Seaworld with my family: getting splashed at the Killer Whale show, seeing The Clyde and Seamore Show; Journey to Atlantis; hearing people scream while they rode Kracken >:D
    4. Well, we don’t have a lot of ‘family traditions’ for holidays, but I do love the pumpkin pie at thanksgiving. And the stuffing.
    5. Korean probably. Or maybe Arabic.
    6. Wow. Hard one. “Only one life; ’twill soon be past. Only what’s done for Christ will last.” And the Ring Verse. And “So much death. What can men do against such reckless hate?” And “War will make corpses of us all.”
    7. I like to wake up in a room that’s still fairly dark, without a light shining in my eyes.
    8. Probably Ruth. Or Mary.
    9. Yes.
    10. I haven’t been to many cities, and I don’t think I have a favorite one 😛
    11. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFZbzKN4S78&feature=related

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    Those links under the videos are different than the videos it is showing. I put in five links in all, but three of them only show as links and not videos.

    Like

  3. Lostariel says:

    Fact 11: *sigh* I’d disagree with you on character development… but then, I’ve thought a LOT about it and discussed it, mostly with people on tumblr. I do love that quote.

    Answer 8: Yeah… that’s more what I was aiming for with the question. But there are also some movies that I love that I assume other people will find really weird, such as Jim Henson’s Labyrinth. Anyway, almost all movies have to come with warnings now, sadly.

    Like

  4. Cait says:

    11 Questions.
    1. Where do you want to go most in the world, and why? Probably Dubai, to see family and friends, or Mediterranean France or Italy, because I think it would be my favorite and I would love the food and learning to make it.
    2. What’s your favorite month, and why? October, because it’s so autumnal (in some places), August, because it’s my birthday, festive December, or baby February.
    3. Best childhood memory? Not sure…dancing in Sara’s basement.
    4. What’s your favorite tradition – for birthday, holiday, etc.? I love giving and receiving gifts, honestly! And food, music and celebration in general.
    5. If you could speak any language fluently, what would it be? French or Italian, equally..
    6. What’s your favorite quote – silly or serious? These things are NEVER on the top of my head.
    7. What’s your favorite way to wake up? Lazily cuddled with Joel and Jacqueline in a sunny room, followed by coffee and something hot and homemade and Joel not having to go anywhere,
    8. If you could be anyone in the Bible, who would you be, and why? I’ve always wanted to know what Mary was feeling, and her depth of faith.
    9. Does anyone else think 11 is a really random number for this? yes.
    10. What’s your favorite city and why? Dubai or Seattle, for obvious reasons!
    11. Introduce me to a good song. 🙂 I haven’t listened to music properly in so long 😦 Look up ‘Junk’ sung by Sara Gazarek. Pretty!

    Like

  5. Arthur Dunn says:

    I’ve got to reply to one of Anna’s, so here it is:
    10. What is the loveliest voice to fall asleep to?
    I have to say the voice of Crickets.

    Here are your 11 Questions.
    1. Where do you want to go most in the world, and why?
    Scotland, because I know that that is the best place to go, and I’m very celtic, and am Scottish at heart.
    2. What’s your favorite month, and why?
    January, because it’s my birthday month.
    3. Best childhood memory?
    Any time that I spent with my cousins.
    4. What’s your favorite tradition – for birthday, holiday, etc.?
    Our annual Cabin trip, with my cousins
    5. If you could speak any language fluently, what would it be?
    Besides English, either Hebrew, Gaelic, or Spanish.
    6. What’s your favorite quote – silly or serious?
    I came. I saw; and I got blowed up.
    Ernest P. Worrell
    7. What’s your favorite way to wake up?
    A loud alarm clock on the other side of the room, that way I’ll have to get up.
    8. If you could be anyone in the Bible, who would you be, and why?
    Any one of the Disciples (except Judas). Then I would have known Jesus in person.
    9. Does anyone else think 11 is a really random number for this?
    No, not really.
    10. What’s your favorite city and why?
    I don’t really have a favorite city; the country is so much better.
    11. Introduce me to a good song. 🙂
    Wild Pacific Shore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

