A Word to America

Dear America,

I feel very far-away from what happened yesterday. That’s not to say I didn’t have a part; I prayed, thought, discussed, and voted. But in my next words, I want to say something to you that I feel like I can say only because I have an outsider’s view. I know the affects of the Obama administration over the past four years have been devastating. I know the next four years will be difficult. But to be honest, I think we need it. I’m not saying we should choose this or even rejoice in it. But America, if we use our time well, there will be good that will come out of this.

 
America, you are being broken. In many ways, this is judgment for killing babies, exporting immorality all over the world via television, and messing with the picture of Christ and the church that a godly marriage paints, in the name of choice and freedom. There are many who are crying out for the mercy of God. I pray He will give it – but it may not be in the way we think. It may not be relief, but  an increased burden, that brings us to God.

It’s frightening to think of what may happen in the next four years. But there will be good that comes from it. Already I can see need for change in individuals and in the church, change that President Obama may facilitate in a way that a “better” President could not.

1. So much of American Christianity is weak easy-believism and prosperity theology, caught up in the American dream. Hardship, trial, and even persecution may be what we need. I’ve been reading a book called “A Sacred Sorrow” by Michael Card, and have  been studying Job. Mr. Card asks if we go to God for His gifts or for who He is. Do we love and cling to God even when we don’t understand and everything is going wrong? The American church needs to realize that GOD, not the American dream, is what we need. It may be that in the next four years, as our comforts and freedoms are taken away, America may realize this and glorify God in the wilderness.

2. Along similar lines, so much of what I have seen before and after the election (note that my “seen” means friends on Facebook), is fear. We have put too much hope in politics and have been fearing men more than God. If the church cowers in fear of the president and his administration, the next four years will be a disaster. But if instead of fearing men, we fear God, and instead of bemoaning our losses we demonstrate for the world that CHRIST is our King and He is our ultimate and unfailing hope, and come out of our comfort zone to change America not just by our votes but by our lives and investing in souls rather than campaigns (though there is a time to do so),  then we may find beauty even in these tears. The times that are the most deep and beautiful in history, the eras that brought the most to us, were the ones that would have been the hardest to live through. Corrie ten Boom, Stonewall Jackson, Adoniram Judson – came to light not because of easy times but because of difficulty – and not just difficulty, but turning to and clinging to God in difficulty.

I believe that the next four years will be a time for this to happen in America. I believe –  no, I KNOW – that this hardship will be used for the glory of God, in a way that is much more stunning and glorious than if we did not suffer. When the church comes out of its prosperity gospel and into a gospel that is rich with suffering and pain, and comes to understand its worth, beauty, and purpose – then I think we may be able to say that hard though those years were, we would not trade them because we learned that what God offers is not cars and houses but Himself, which is far greater.

Pray for our President. The heart of the king is a stream of water in the hand of God; He turns it where He wills. May God be gracious to us, whether changing our president’s heart or changing our own to show His worth and glory in difficult times in a way that cannot be made known in times of ease. It is from God, and our God is good, and this is from His hand – even the hard things from His hand become good and beautiful in time, as we begin to understand. He is Lord!

Pro Christo,
Kyleigh

“Do not fear anything that is frightening.” – 1 Peter 3:6

“This is my Father’s world. O let me ne’er forget
That though the wrong seems oft so strong, God is the ruler yet.
This is my Father’s world: the battle is not done:
Jesus Who died shall be satisfied,
And earth and Heav’n be one.”

10 thoughts on “A Word to America

  1. Megan says:

    I just feel as if I must tell you that I read this. (Just to clarify: You are probably saying, “I thought Mennonites don’t believe in politics.” That’s true; but we should know what is going on. And we should pray for our authorities. ) Anyways, this morning, I was rather surprised at the results; considering the fact that Romney seemed to have an better argument in the 1st Debate…but no matter what, I can’t really tell who is really right. On each of the debates, both are accusing the other on different weaknesses. So…. I really don’t have much to say. After all, I don’t know all that’s happened. I haven’t researched or anything. I just watched the 1st and 2nd Debates.

    And I really agree with most of what you said. You really said it all.

    Like

  2. Ezra Dunn says:

    I was talking with two friends this morning about this. We agreed that God is sovereign and in control, and knows exactly what He is doing. Our job? Pray and work to strengthen His church for His glory!

    This president has already demonstrated an open animosity toward the church, and now he doesn’t have to worry about re-election. But, as God has always done, He will build His church, and “The gates of hell will not prevail against it.”

    And if God will use president to strengthen His people, then shouldn’t we trust Him and welcome the future? Isn’t a bad president with a strong Church better than a good president with a weak Church?

    Like

  3. Kathryn Elwell says:

    Kyleigh, I’ve always known that you are wise beyond your years, but this is more than that…God’s wisdom is oozing out of you. Thank you for writing this so clearly.

    Like

  4. ashley says:

    This was a great post! Part of me feels like this is punishment from God and America is “getting what they deserve” and the other part of me feels like this is God’s will and we just can’t see the bigger picture of why he allowed this. Sometimes His ways confuse me, but I know His ways are higher and I’m not expected to understand it all right now….

    Like

  5. Erin says:

    Months ago I asked if you believed that Mormons were Christians – you said no.
    So here’s my question, I assume you think that Romney would have been a better president, but how could you reconcile that with the fact that you don’t believe he’s a Christian, when Obama is a mainstream Christian?

    Like

    • Kyleian says:

      That’s easily reconciled, because although the President claims to hold to Christianity, his policy is often NOT in line with scripture (gay “marriage,” abortion, as the two obvious ones). I don’t know the president to be able to say I think he is or isn’t a Christian. His actions seem different from his profession of faith, though.
      Whereas, Romney, although not a Christian, is more biblical in his worldview from common grace.

      Like

Leave a Reply

