Favorite Hymns: 13-24

See the first installment here.

Hymn #13: Dear Refuge of My Weary Soul
{old words, new tune}

Favorite verse:
Thy mercy-seat is open still;
Here let my soul retreat,
With humble hope attend thy will,
And wait beneath thy feet.

Hymn #14: God Be Merciful to Me
{old words, new tune. this recording is one of the “tolerable” ones}

God be merciful to me
On Thy grace, I rest my plea
Plenteous in compassion Thou
Blot out my transgressions now

Wash me, make me pure within
Cleanse, oh, cleanse me from my sin

My transgressions I confess
Grief and guilt my soul oppress
I have sinned against Thy grace
And provoked Thee to Thy face

I confess Thy judgment just
Speechless, I, Thy mercy trust

I am evil born in sin
Thou desirest truth within
Thou alone my Savior art
Teach Thy wisdom to my heart

Make me pure, Thy grace bestow
Wash me whiter than the snow

Gracious God, my heart renew
Make my spirit right and true
Thy salvation’s joy impart
Steadfast make my willing heart
Steadfast make my willing heart

Broken, humbled to the dust
By Thy wrath and judgment just
Let my contrite heart rejoice
And in gladness hear Thy voice

From my sins, oh, hide Thy face
Blot them out in boundless grace

Hymn #15: God Moves in a Mysterious Way

Favorite Verses:
Ye fearful saints, fresh courage take;
The clouds ye so much dread
Are big with mercy and shall break
In blessings on your head.

Judge not the Lord by feeble sense,
But trust Him for His grace;
Behind a frowning providence
He hides a smiling face.

His purposes will ripen fast,
Unfolding every hour;
The bud may have a bitter taste,
But sweet will be the flow’r.

Blind unbelief is sure to err
And scan His work in vain;
God is His own interpreter,
And He will make it plain.

Hymn #16: Hallelujah, What a Savior

Favorite verse:
Guilty, vile, and helpless we;
spotless Lamb of God was he;
full atonement can it be?
Hallelujah! What a Savior!

Hymn #17: His Eye is on the Sparrow
{this was stuck in my head at Csehy after Mr. Holland and Jonathan played it for prelude, but it wasn’t in the Csehy hymnal, so it drove me crazy until I was able to print it out and learn it, and now I love it}

Favorite Verses:
Why should I feel discouraged?
Why should the shadows come?
Why should my heart be lonely
and long for heaven and home,
When Jesus is my portion?
My constant friend is he:
His eye is on the sparrow,
and I know he watches me.

“Let not your heart be troubled,”
his tender word I hear,
and resting on his goodness,
I lose my doubts and fears;
though by the path he leadeth
but one step I may see:
His eye is on the sparrow,
and I know he watches me.

Hymn #18: How Firm a Foundation
{also a favorite of Robert E. Lee}

Favorite verses:
When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
The rivers of sorrow shall not overflow;
For I will be with thee thy trouble to bless,
And sanctify to thee thy deepest distress.

When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie,
My grace, all-sufficient, shall be thy supply;
The flame shall not harm thee; I only design
Thy dross to consume and thy gold to refine.

Hymn #18: How Great Thou Art

Favorite verses:
all of it.
stars and glades and mountains and Christ and heaven.
Can’t choose a favorite.

Hymn #19: I Surrender All
{I always liked this one, and then the last night the counselors were at Csehy this year we were singing it around our bonfire, and I was sitting there quietly, mostly enjoying the bass line of the chorus because I love it so much and it’s so calming, but wasn’t singing along that night because the words were such a challenge to me}

All to Jesus I surrender;
Humbly at His feet I bow,
Worldly pleasures all forsaken;
Take me, Jesus, take me now.

But I can’t find a recording I like that has a clear bass line.

 

Hymn #20: It is Not Death to Die
{new words, new tune, old truths}

It is not death to die
To leave this weary road
And join the saints who dwell on high
Who’ve found their home with God
It is not death to close
The eyes long dimmed by tears
And wake in joy before Your throne
Delivered from our fears

O Jesus, conquering the grave
Your precious blood has power to save
Those who trust in You
Will in Your mercy find
That it is not death to die

It is not death to fling
Aside this earthly dust
And rise with strong and noble wing
To live among the just
It is not death to hear
The key unlock the door
That sets us free from mortal years
To praise You evermore

Hymn #21: It is Well With My Soul
{memories of this hymn: Csehy 2013, with singing it so many times and so much emphasis on it, and realizing as we talked so often about the words, that at the return of the Lord we can say “It is well” because we are forgiven and don’t have to fear judgment. Also Csehy 2012, when Dr. Shewan played trumpet from wherever he was sitting as we sang the last verse, and traveling in 2011 with the C’s and S’s, and singing it often on the bus}

Favorite verses:
My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

Hymn #22: Jesus, I Am Resting, Resting

O how great thy lovingkindness,
Vaster, broader than the sea!
O how marvelous thy goodness
Lavished all on me!
Yes, I rest in thee, Beloved,
Know what wealth of grace is thine,
Know thy certainty of promise
And have made it mine.

Jesus, I am resting, resting
In the joy of what thou art;
I am finding out the greatness
Of thy loving heart.

Simply trusting thee, Lord Jesus,
I behold thee as thou art,
And thy love, so pure, so changeless,
Satisfies my heart;
Satisfies its deepest longings,
Meets, supplies its ev’ry need,
Compasseth me round with blessings:
Thine is love indeed.

Hymn #23: Jesus, Lover of My Soul
{there are two tunes to this, both are beautiful, but I prefer Aberystwith}

Other refuge have I none,
hangs my helpless soul on thee;
leave, ah! leave me not alone,
still support and comfort me.
All my trust on thee is stayed,
all my help from thee I bring;
cover my defenseless head
with the shadow of thy wing.

Hymn #24: Jesus of the Scars
{this hymn has no music… yet. Its meter is 10.10.10.10, so it works with “Abide with Me,” but I think it should have its own tune, and that’s on my to-do list, though I’m not sure I’m fully up to the task since writing melodies is very difficult for me. But until then, just the beautiful words}

If we have never sought, we seek Thee now;
Thine eyes burn through the dark, our only stars;
We must have sight of thorn-pricks on Thy brow;
We must have Thee, O Jesus of the Scars.

The heavens frighten us; they are too calm;
In all the universe we have no place.
Our wounds are hurting us; where is the balm?
Lord Jesus, by Thy Scars, we claim Thy grace.

If, when the doors are shut, Thou drawest near,
Only reveal those hands, that side of Thine;
We know to-day what wounds are, have no fear,
Show us Thy Scars, we know the countersign.

The other gods were strong; but Thou wast weak;
They rode, but Thou didst stumble to a throne;
But to our wounds only God’s wounds speak;
And not a god has wounds, but Thou alone

One thought on “Favorite Hymns: 13-24

Leave a Reply

