Favorite Hymns: 25-36

Installment 1
Installment 2

Hymn #25: Jesus, Priceless Treasure
{another one learned at Csehy. Cait and I used to sing this one together, and then over the last few months the words, not just the tune, became especially beautiful to me}

Favorite verse:
Satan, I defy thee;
Death, I now decry thee;
Fear, I bid thee cease.
World, thou shalt not harm me
Nor thy threats alarm me
While I sing of peace.
God’s great power Guards every hour;
Earth and all its depths adore Him,
Silent bow before Him.

{read all the verses here}

Hymn #26: Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence

Favorite verses:
Let all mortal flesh keep silence,
and with fear and trembling stand;
ponder nothing earthly minded,
for with blessing in his hand
Christ our God to earth descendeth,
our full homage to demand.

At his feet the six-winged seraph,
cherubim, with sleepless eye,
veil their faces to the presence,
as with ceaseless voice they cry,
“Alleluia, alleluia,
alleluia, Lord most high!”

Hymn #26: Like a River Glorious

Favorite verse:
Hidden in the hollow
Of His blessed hand,
Never foe can follow,
Never traitor stand;
Not a surge of worry,
Not a shade of care,
Not a blast of hurry
Touch the spirit there.

{I love how well the tune fit this. It’s all so peaceful}

Hymn #27: May the Mind of Christ my Savior

Favorite verses:
May the peace of God my Father
Rule my life in everything,
That I may be calm to comfort
Sick and sorrowing.

May the love of Jesus fill me
As the waters fill the sea;
Him exalting, self abasing,
This is victory.

Hymn #28: Never Cease to Praise

Favorite verse:
When that day arrives, and the race is won,
When our griefs give way to deliverance,
We will fully know, as we’re fully known.
All our groans will end as new songs begin,
And a multitude from every tribe and tongue
Wearing robes of white, will stand before Your throne
And our hearts will be so consumed by You
That we’ll never cease to praise!

Hymn #29: No Not One
{no recording for this one, unfortunately}

Favorite verses:
No friend like Him is so high and holy,
No, not one! No, not one!
And yet no friend is so meek and lowly,
No, not one! No, not one!

There’s not an hour that He is not near us,
No, not one! No, not one!
No night so dark but His love can cheer us,
No, not one! No, not one!

Hymn #30: Not What My Hands Have Done

Favorite verses:
Thy work alone, O Christ,
Can ease this weight of sin;
Thy blood alone, O Lamb of God,
Can give me peace within.

Thy love to me, O God,
Not mine, O Lord to Thee,
Can rid me of this dark unrest
And set my spirit free.

I bless the Christ of God,
I rest on love divine,
And with unfaltering lip and heart
I call this Savior mine.

{read all the verses here}

Hymn #31: O Great God
{words based on a prayer from Valley of Vision, new tune}

Favorite verse:
O great God of highest heaven
Occupy my lowly heart
Own it all and reign supreme
Conquer every rebel power
Let no vice or sin remain
That resists Your holy war
You have loved and purchased me
Make me Yours forevermore

Hymn #32: O Love That Will Not Let Me Go

Favorite verses:
O Joy that seekest me through pain,
I cannot close my heart to thee;
I trace the rainbow thru the rain,
and feel the promise is not vain,
that morn shall tearless be.

O Cross that liftest up my head,
I dare not ask to fly from thee;
I lay in dust life’s glory dead,
and from the ground there blossoms
red life that shall endless be.

Hymn #33: O Sacred Head Now Wounded

Favorite verses:
My burden in Thy Passion,
Lord, Thou hast borne for me,
For it was my transgression
Which brought this woe on thee.
I cast me down before Thee,
Wrath were my rightful lot;
Have mercy, I implore Thee;
Redeemer, spurn me not!

What language shall I borrow
To thank Thee, dearest Friend,
For this, Thy dying sorrow,
Thy pity without end?
Oh, make me thine forever!
And should I fainting be,
Lord, let me never, never,
Outlive my love for Thee.

Be Thou my Consolation,
My Shield when I must die;
Remind me of Thy Passion
When my last hour draws nigh.
Mine eyes shall then behold Thee,
Upon Thy cross shall dwell,
My heart by faith enfold Thee.
Who dieth thus dies well!

Lots of links for this one below! 🙂
All the verses
Michael Card
My arrangement
King’s College Choir of Cambridge

Hymn #34: All I Have is Christ
{forgot this one earlier and am now wondering how in the world I did that}

Favorite part:
the chorus.

“Hallelujah, all I have is Christ,
Hallelujah, Jesus is my life.”

I’ve written more about this song here.

Hymn #35: O the Deep Deep Love of Jesus
{the proper way… old words, old tune}

Favorite verse (which also happens to be the one that usually gets changed – but here it is the old way, my favorite way):
O the deep, deep love of Jesus–
spread his praise from shore to shore!
How he loves us, ever loves us,
changes never, nevermore!
How he watches o’er his loved ones,
died to call them all his own;
how for them he’s interceding,
watching o’er them from the throne!

{glorious, glorious, glorious! oh yes, and the harmonies. I could listen to them forever}

Hymn #36: Out of the Depths
{new words, new tune, old truths}

So more than watchmen for the morning
I will wait for You, my God
When my fears come with no warning
In Your Word I’ll put my trust
When the harvest time is over and I still see no fruit
I will wait, I will wait for You

The secret mysteries belong to You
We only know what You reveal
And all my questions that are unresolved
Don’t change the wisdom of Your will
In every trial and loss
My hope is in the cross

{this song has been a great help to me in times of waiting, fear, and unknowns}

4 thoughts on “Favorite Hymns: 25-36

  1. homeschooledlady says:

    You had me playing hymns yesterday night for about an hour or so and reading and praying the words. Now I have a deeper love for hymns. Thank you, Kyleigh! I especially love “O Love that Wit Not Let Me Go”. The choir you linked to was beautiful.

    Like

  2. homeschooledlady says:

    Oh! You know Valley of Vision too?! We have their CD and once I wondered if you knew their songs. I wasn’t sure that Our Great God was their version until I viewed it just now, though. Though my favorite is the first song played on their CD – Valley of Vision (not sure if you know…when you led me to the valley of vision/I can see you in the heights/and though my humbling wouldn’t be my decision……..)

    Like

Leave a Reply

