Favorite Hymns: 37-48

The third installment, with links to the first two.


Hymn #37: Rock of Ages

Also this tune.

Not the labors of my hands
can fulfill thy law’s commands;
could my zeal no respite know,
could my tears forever flow,
all for sin could not atone;
thou must save, and thou alone.

Nothing in my hand I bring,
simply to the cross I cling;
naked, come to thee for dress;
helpless, look to thee for grace;
foul, I to the fountain fly;
wash me, Savior, or I die.

While I draw this fleeting breath,
when mine eyes shall close in death,
when I soar to worlds unknown,
see thee on thy judgment throne,
Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
let me hide myself in thee.
{hidden in Thee lest I perish seeing Thy face}

Hymn #38: Stricken, Smitten, and Afflicted

Favorite verse:
Here we have a firm foundation;
Here the refuge of the lost;
Christ, the Rock of our salvation,
His the name of which we boast.
Lamb of God, for sinners wounded,
Sacrifice to cancel guilt!
None shall ever be confounded
Who on Him their hope have built.

Hymn #39: Here is Love
{forgot this one earlier!}

Favorite verse:
On the mount of crucifixion,
Fountains opened deep and wide;
Through the floodgates of God’s mercy
Flowed a vast and gracious tide.
Grace and love, like mighty rivers,
Poured incessant from above,
And Heav’n’s peace and perfect justice
Kissed a guilty world in love.

Hymn #40: The Cross Still Stands
{written off of a prayer from The Valley of Vision}

Lord, this glory-seeking hunger tries
To pull my heart from You:
Such a dark, unwelcome guest who hides
In everything I do.
But Your grace remains and pleads for me:
“Destroy this enemy!”
For the cross still stands
And meets my deepest need.

Hymn #41: The King of Love my Shepherd Is

Favorite verse:
Perverse and foolish I have strayed,
But yet in love he sought me,
And on his shoulder gently laid,
And home, rejoicing, brought me.

Hymn #42: The Lord Bless You and Keep You
{because no list of favorite hymns would be complete without the Csehy Benediction}

Hymn #43: The Lord’s My Shepherd

Favorite verse:
Yea, though I walk in death’s dark vale,
Yet will I fear none ill;
For Thou art with me; and Thy rod
And staff me comfort still.

{and the one I grew up with}

Hymn #44: When Morning Gilds the Sky

favorite verse:
The night becomes as day
When from the heart we say:
May Jesus Christ be praised!
The pow’rs of darkness fear
When this sweet chant they hear:
May Jesus Christ be praised!

Hymn #47: Wonderful Grace of Jesus
{some numbers I accidentally did twice… so we’re at 47 of 48!}

Favorite verse:
Wonderful grace of Jesus, reaching the most defiled,
By its transforming power, making him God’s dear child.
Purchasing peace and heaven for all eternity;
And the wonderful grace of Jesus reaches me!

Hymn #48: This is My Father’s World

Favorite verse:
This is my Father’s world
O let me ne’er forget –
That though the wrong seems oft so strong,
God is the ruler yet.
This is my Father’s world,
The battle is not done,
Jesus who died shall be satisfied,
And earth and heav’n be one.

And I keep trying to think of something to say about this recording, or how to say it best. I didn’t even look for another one; I knew right away which recording I would use for this hymn, even though there aren’t vocals, there’s only one I ever listen to.
I waited two days to post this one – I was going to on November 30 but then when I was looking for the recording I realized it was so close to December 2 and knew I had to wait, especially when I burst into tears when I started listening to the recording. It’s hard to believe it’s been two years since Dr. Hsu died. We all still miss him, even people like me who didn’t know him very well. But we are all so jealous of him, longing to be with the Lord as he is.

Leave a Reply

