Thoughts from Isaiah: How Not to Fear

Why is my life so safe that all I worry about is where to get organic food while others flee for their lives or have no food?
Help us know how to help them and how to glorify you in our ease.

In affliction we grow, and spiritual life is dull when there is no struggle.
Ease is not always blessing.

Isaiah 11. His holy mountain is SAFE. Why is it safe?
Because the earth is full of the knowledge of Him and so all the earth changes because we know and see Him.

Isaiah 35:4.
Say to those who have an anxious heart, “Be Strong! Fear not! Behold, your God will come with vengeance, with the recompense of God.
He will come & save you.”

Isaiah 36.
Fear says “God can’t handle this.” We fear when we doubt God, just as my fear in wildfires, or flying, or childbirth or any unknown doubts His power, goodness, and sovereignty.

Isaiah 41:14-16.
We are worms.
But when He works in us, we do mighty things.

The hardest thing about pregnancy is coming face to face with so many unknowns out of your control.
And yet every single detail is already known by Him.
And He knows how to prepare us and get us through.

YOU are in control and I know I can trust You – who has brought this about, who gives life and health, who cares for my good, who is for our marriage, who is there in the valley, even in death, who knows each star by name and numbers the hairs on my head, who knows the way He is leading me on, who has Heard my prayers, who balances might and tenderness, who does not crush a bruised reed, who has given me Ezra to help in this.
Hope in God and fear not anything that is frightening. FEARLESS not because of me but because of who I have with me.

Isaiah 51:8.
Fear not the reproach of men,
Be not dismayed at their revilings.
For the moth will eat them up like a garment,
but My Righteousness will be forever and My Salvation to all generations.
HE WINS, even against ISIS.
I’m having a hard time doing anything “normal” when I’m thinking about all the suffering “over there” and how different our lives are here… and how “unfair” it is, and how much I want “those guys gone.” And I was reading in Isaiah and it’s incredibly clear there that no matter what… OUR GOD WINS.

I don’t want to not fear because circumstances aren’t scary.
I want to not fear because I hope in God.

Isaiah 51:12.
I, I am He who comforts you.
Who are you, that you are afraid of man who dies, and have forgotten the Lord, your maker, who stretched out the heavens?

We fear because we forget Him.

Go to His Word, not the news or the internet to know what to do.
How can we not have some fear? ISIS is ruthless, frightening. Unknowns are scary. But what does Isaiah prove?
Our God reigns.
The wicked will be judged.
He cares for His people.
His salvation is forever.
He is powerful and He is the one in control.

Why should I fear when the one who cares enough to call out each star every night, who is powerful enough to bring down the wicked, who is big enough that the heavens are but a hands’ breadth, who knows enough that my way and days are not hidden from Him – why should I fear when it is this God who is my shepherd, who loves me and gave Himself for me and is with me always?
I am a child of the Most High & I am not afraid.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts from Isaiah: How Not to Fear

Leave a Reply

