February

February was a tough month, but it was good and life with S keeps getting easier. E was traveling for a bit, which I was nervous about, but friends from church kept me company and I was able to follow S a bit more to find her rhythm, especially for evening and bed time, which helped then the next week when we finally buckled down and helped her sleep in the cosleeper. It was tough, but now she goes to bed on her own at 8 and we have time to catch up on dishes, draw, or do whatever, and I don’t have to worry about plugged ducts from her sleeping on me (though I sure miss the cuddles).


{good morning! Reading, praying, and drawing during breakfast and cuddles with S}

{a friend from Dubai was passing through and we played tourist}

{Ezra had been traveling but was coming home… so I straightened everything up and realized I don’t think I ever posted a photo of our room}

{Ezra had this custom design of a line from the poem he proposed with hand lettered for me for Christmas. Once I find the right frames, we’re putting our silhouettes up on either side}

favorite recipes// salmon with avocado // garlic carrot soup // sweet potato sliders // chicken mole // sweet and savory tortilla // roasted beet salad // cocoa-toasted cauliflower // cashew cheese // lemon blueberry ice cream // apple cinnamon chia bowl

best of online// deseed a pomegranate in 10 seconds // bringing sanity to the vaccine debate // changing how we change the world // clearing up essential oils // A Biblical Meditation on the Execution of 21 Christians {a must-read} // Hand Lettering Company Kickstarter 
“Comedian Jim Gaffigan has 5 children; here’s how he answers the “Why so many?!” question:

“’Well, why not? I guess the reasons against having more children always seem uninspiring and superficial. What exactly am I missing out on? Money? A few more hours of sleep? A more peaceful meal? More hair? These are nothing compared to what I get from these five monsters who rule my life. I believe each of my five children has made me a better man. So I figure I only need another thirty-four kids to be a pretty decent guy.'”

reading of late// Doing Things Right in Matters of the Heart (Ensor)

Miss Munchkin// is quite a social butterfly and loves to jabber, coo, gurgle, and play with anyone anytime (hence the blackout curtains). I may write more about our sleep training adventures later, but we were ready and she was giving us signs that she was, too. She continues to destroy any and every swaddle, is sucking her thumb more, and is on the verge of laughing.

thinking about// hard naps are for me to seek Him // the joy of the Lord is my strength // your child’s sleep habits are not a measure of good or bad parenting //

what brings joy// S learning sleep // gorgeous weather // long walks // help from family // support from the church // S making friends everywhere we go

February writing// Javi’s Cafe, 14 // started editing “The Christian Musician”

Leave a Reply

