Japan: Kawagoe & Asakusa


Kawagoe is off the beaten path. I found it because I heard we should find some older towns/neighborhoods to explore, and when we were planning our Tokyo trip I searched for some near Tokyo. Kawagoe seemed like a good choice, and it certainly was. We arrived later in the day, but if we had known how early stuff closed might have come a bit earlier to see the temple and castle ruins. But just walking the streets, browsing stores, and exploring a museum made it worth the trip!


I turned around to find shopkeepers playing peekaboo with S.


She loved the tatami mats.

Asakusa was a place my dad had been with Cait in 2009, one of Japan’s earlier capitals. There is also a large temple there, which we saw in the morning after we stayed the night in an Air B’N’B.


Decked out for autumn


The air always feels heavy to me in temples and shrines, but I don’t think it’s the incense. I think it’s the sad reality of how lost so many are.


Practicing our Japanese

Leave a Reply

