Whatever May Pass

I learned 10,000 Reasons at Csehy in 2013, and then we sang it a lot at our church in San Diego. It was stuck in my head a lot as we prepared to leave on our road trip, and I adopted the part lettered above as something to always keep in mind on the road. Life with a baby is unpredictable in general, but I had absolutely no idea what our days on the road would be like, especially since our road trips earlier in the summer had been disastrous as far as S sleeping in the car, and we needed that to happen in order to make it anywhere.
So I prayed often that whatever the day held, I’d have a good attitude at the end of the day. Thankfully, S took 1.5+ hour naps twice a day in the car for the whole trip, making it not only possible but even easy. Bless the Lord, O my soul!

I kept these phrases in my head as we made our way over to Japan and through jet lag, with more unpredictable days and exhaustion. I had been expecting S to want to start her days at 3 AM, but instead we were having “normal” length nights but she was nursing like a newborn – ever 2-3 hours, all night and all day.
We made it through, not just surviving but even singing at the end of most days, despite solo parenting and being lonely.

I had these words on my list of things to hand letter, and when I finally got around to it I felt that the words had more meaning because of what we’d been through and that life was now mostly easier so I didn’t think I needed them on our wall any more.

But then S got a stomach bug and was throwing up, and then I got it, and now she’s waking at 5 AM unhappy to start her day but refusing to go back to sleep. And every day, it’s “whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me, let me be singing when the evening comes.”
Singing not because everything goes well like it had on our road trip.
Singing because we can worship Him no matter what happens, whether it’s a toddler not sleeping, sorrow, persecution… He is the reason we can sing like never before, even if our day is a disaster, because He is constant and unchanging. The second verse of 10,000 Reasons outlines gives just some of the thousands of reasons we can bless the Lord, even when what lies before us is our worst nightmare.
“You’re rich in love and You’re slow to anger
Your name is great and Your heart is kind.”

So as we’re about to take a 10 hour flight with a lap toddler and a 5 hour time change…
Let me be singing when the evening comes.
Not because she sleeps, but because He is good.

One thought on “Whatever May Pass

Leave a Reply

