The Book on Leadership: Revolutionizing Motherhood

I picked MacArthur’s “The Book on Leadership” as one of my books to read for Tim Challies’ reading challenge this year. I went into it not expecting it to really be “for” me as I’m not really in a leadership position anywhere, but early on he made it clear that motherhood is a leadership position (well duh, Kyleigh), and so it ended up being a really good book for me to read, and slowly process, review, and apply.
He talked about how influence is a huge part of leadership, and a leader as someone whose life and character motivate people to follow, and then outlined 26 character traits of a leader as seen in Paul. As part of my post-reading thought process, I started writing out some ways those character traits apply in motherhood. I’ve listed some of my comments below but didn’t want to fill it in completely to let you think through it some for whatever your leadership role might be!

TRUSTWORTHY. keeping promises to S, even if it seems unimportant to me or like she doesn’t really understand yet.
INITIATIVE. not waiting for her to ask to play with me
GOOD JUDGEMENT really thinking about where I draw boundaries
SPEAK WITH AUTHORITY not being wishy-washy with my boundaries when she pushes them
STRENGTHENS OTHERS
ENTHUSIASTIC AND OPTIMISTIC
NEVER COMPROMISES ABSOLUTES
FOCUSES ON OBJECTIVES NOT OBSTACLES
EMPOWERS BY EXAMPLE making sure I keep myself to the same standard I hold out for S!
CULTIVATES LOYALTY
EMPATHY FOR OTHERS not brushing it off when S is upset
KEEPS CLEAR CONSCIENCE asking forgiveness when I need to
DEFINITE AND DECISIVE but,
KNOWS WHEN TO CHANGE MIND
DOESN’T ABUSE AUTHORITY
DOESN’T ABDICATE IN OPPOSITION
SURE OF CALLING especially when other things like writing vie for my for attention
KNOWS OWN LIMITATIONS knowing when to ask for help!
RESILIENT
PASSIONATE
COURAGEOUS
DISCERNING

DISCIPLINED <— really needed to be reminded of that one!
ENERGETIC
KNOWS HOW TO DELEGATE
CHRISTLIKE

Leave a Reply

