Camping for Mother’s Day

 photo IMG_20170511_194526_zpspw3c5n55.jpg
We went camping “for” Mother’s Day: I wanted a few days away from the pull of chores, computer, dishes, etc. to really enjoy just being together. Ever since Ellie was born I have felt a lot of tension in those areas, especially with giving both girls enough attention, and have found myself really struggling with what exactly discipline with S looks like as we move into her starting to be able to teach her what’s going on in her heart (but without her fully understanding it yet), and throw in the internet and the tension was even greater.

So we camped, unplugged, with nothing on the agenda except a hike a day and hanging out and eating, and we did a lot of that and it was nice (we also did a lot of hiding in the tent or under the tarp in the biggest downpour we’ve had since moving here).

 photo IMG_20170511_112816_zpspnm7a8jt.jpg
But even without those distractions I still struggled to give my attention to the girls and love on them in their way (ie, Corduroy AGAIN). Yes, lack of sleep and the cold made me really cranky but it wasn’t an excuse. I kept thinking of something I had read earlier in the week about not sabotaging your own mother’s day by what you expected, and here I was sabotaging my own while trying to prevent that from happening by trying not to make it about me… when it still was.

 photo IMG_20170512_182703_zpsmcvx25mu.jpg
Because truly loving the girls means showing them love even when I don’t love how they make me feel, even when she’s asking the same question again and again and again. But in the end it isn’t even about saying “no” to myself and “yes” to S, but saying “no” to self and “Yes” to God’s commands to live in peace with everyone and to demonstrate the fruit of the Spirit.

If I am the center of my mothering, then I get angry, irritated, and upset when my kids don’t make me happy or act how I want them to – and then that says to them that I am god and God is not enough.

If my kids are the center of my mothering, I become irritated and exhausted trying to meet their every need and keep them happy.

If, however, God is the center of my mothering, my concern is glorifying and obeying Him, raising them in the ways of God (which do include them learning love & self control but even more in putting Him forth as a glorious Savior), and in humility considering them as more important than myself because I see my true place in Him and am satisfied in Him.

Only in that frame of mind can I see clearly, love truly, be compassionate, and direct them on the paths they (we!) should go.

 photo IMG_20170513_074137_zpsf3lbhrz0.jpg
we found the “perfect” campsite – secluded but not too far from bathrooms, water, and trailheads, big but not more expensive, and opening onto the woods and not other campsites, which made it feel even bigger and meant S could explore while we cooked.

 photo IMG_20170512_181113_zpsxup0errf.jpg
I should have known from when we went to the cabin when S was 8 months old, but 8 months is a tough time for camping. Ellie was worn or held a lot because all she wanted to do was eat pinecones.

 photo IMG_20170512_112828_zpsewfwwh9g.jpg
So much gorgeous handiwork by our Creator.

2 thoughts on “Camping for Mother’s Day

  1. Aunt K says:

    Loved this post!! Annie was home this week end and we were laughing about how every time we started
    out camping–it started to rain. Can’t remember how many times Uncle John set up camp in a down pour, but he was always similing and had fresh coffee for me in the a.m. One time, when Theresa was only 2 months old, it snowed when we were camping over Memorial Day :(. Anyhow, the kids have great memories of “all the fun we had” and I guess that it was worth it all. You are a good MOM!! Give everyone a hug from me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

