Fruit Sweetened Mint Chocolate Milkshake

I heard about Starbucks’ Midnight Mint Frappuchino during my 21 Day Sugar Detox. It sounded so good (mint chocolate is my favorite flavor of almost anything) and wanted to try it, but looking at the calendar couldn’t find a place I could really fit it in with my new one big treat a month rule, because of some better opportunities like Salt & Straw in June and Tillamook in July… plus it’s expensive and unhealthy and I don’t even like coffee (but I still reaaally wanted it!).
During my dairy reintroduction I had thawed some cream cheese, which doesn’t freeze well, and knew it had to be used in a smoothie/milkshake, so decided to attempt something mint chocolatey to satisfy my Midnight Mint craving.
And it worked! I don’t have a photo for this recipe because I really don’t know how to take good food photos in general but even less of drinks, but here’s the recipe and I know I’ll be making it again!

Fruit Sweetened Mint Chocolate Milkshake
serves 2-3

1 c milk of your choice (since I was reintroducing dairy, I used whole cow’s milk, but almond or coconut milk should work too, it just might be less rich and creamy)
4 oz cream cheese (ricotta or cottage cheese would work as well, or a mild plain yogurt. If you can’t do dairy, try coconut or cashew cream)
2 frozen bananas
1/2 c frozen spinach
1/4 tsp mint extract
splash of vanilla extract (it was probably about 1/2 tsp)
1/2 c cocoa
3 ice cubes (optional, I added these because it wasn’t quite cold enough)
3 Tbsp collagen (optional)

Put all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth and creamy.
Then I ended up sticking it in the freezer in a stainless steel cup for about an hour because it was part of my lunch but S’s was for later and I wanted to avoid a meltdown. So when I pulled it out the top and sides were starting to freeze and that just made it all the more perfect.

Hidden veggies, no sweetener, and still rich mint chocolatey goodness. I really had to exercise self-control to not devour S’s while she was napping…

Leave a Reply

