Resources for PPD

I’ve put a number of links to articles, podcasts, websites, and blogs, and mentioned some books in my PPD posts, but I wanted to put them all together in one post, too. These are all things that have helped me with PPD, but again, they may or may not be helpful to others! Also, while online resources are useful, they are no substitute for your midwife/doctor, husband, and church (or the physical helps like clean eating, sleep, supplements, and exercise).

If you need immediate help and are having thoughts of harm to yourself or your baby, stop reading and call the suicide prevention hotline NOW. 1-800-273-8255.

online
Postpartum Progress (this website, postpartum progress, is probably the most helpful diagnostic website I have found. I don’t agree with all their “answers” but diagnostically it’s amazing)
Symptom List for PPD (not exhaustive but the most exhaustive one I’ve found)
The difference between PPD & new mom stress
Risk factors: 1 & 2.
6 Stages of PPD (this is so helpful to me a few months out when it feels like PPD is gone but I’m still not healed yet. The “PTSD” stage is not something I would necessarily call PTSD yet that seems like the best label for it)
The Tunnel of Depression (Jasmine Holmes – the most scripturally grounded “what it feels like”)
Anxiety: My Thorn in the Flesh (a good summary of the practical helps you can take, as well as some righting of myths about anxiety that could also be applied to depression)
How to Fight for Faith in the Dark (Desiring God)
Sleep, Motherhood, & PPD (includes symptom list + some tips and ideas)
Some Thoughts on PPD (my post)
Renewing your mind in the midst of PPD (my post)
To Moms of One or Two Children (I don’t love this title, but I go back to this post again and again. Just solid, down to earth advice about life with kids, that I have always found especially encouraging with PPD)
No or Not Yet (for when God doesn’t answer your prayers the way you want Him to)
Dealing with guilt in PPD: My post & What is Well Placed Shame (Desiring God)
Why I’m not Anxious about PPD (written before Ellie’s birth… I am not yet back to this place after Ellie’s birth)
What I want my Daughters to Know about PPD (my post)
When the Bough Breaks (documentary, also available on Netflix. Watch with caution if you have PPD. I think this is mostly helpful for people who have no clue how serious PPD can be).

for support teams
How to Love a Depressed Wife (Desiring God)
How to Help Someone with PPD (my post)
9 Ideas to Support Someone with PPD

sermons
Spiritual Depression (Jonah & Elijah)
A Curse for Us: the Death of Christ (thoughts on being separated from God)
The Curse on Women (MacArthur – the realities of life as a childbearing woman in a fallen world!)
Podcast: Gospel hope for PPD

books
Hind’s Feet on High Places (Hannah Hurnard)
Spurgeon’s Sorrows (Eswine)
A Sacred Sorrow (Card)
When Darkness Will Not Lift (Piper)
The Cup & the Glory (Harris; I have not read this but it’s been highly recommended to me)
Dealing with Depression (Collins)

scriptures
Job – letting it happen because He knows we will come out stronger
Job 38:17 – I have not seen the deep darkness, even in PPD, but GOD HAS
Psalms generally – in everything David suffered, God was always faithful in the end.
Psalm 13, 31 – times of waiting before He answers our cry = normal
Psalm 27 – the prayer for help, and an answer, and then WAIT.
Ps 56:8
Ps 139:11-12
Is 50:10
Ezekiel 2:9-3:3
Jeremiah 20:7-18
Lamentations 3
Ecclesiastes – everything beautiful in its time… not my time, His.
Habbakuk
Micah 7:8-9
Matt 5:4
Lazarus (Jesus waiting to come)
Jesus calming the storm – He was sleeping.
Christ choosing to go forward from Gethsemene to feel the darkness of His hidden face and worse, His wrath.
1 Corinthians 2:9
2 Tim 1:7
Hebrews 12
1 John 3:8

Songs/Poems
God will lift up your head – Gerhart
I have a Shelter in the Storm (Sovereign Grace)
Valley Song (Jars of Clay)
Psalm 23 songs
Though He Slay Me (Shane & Shane)
Satisfied in You (Sing Team)
In Emmanuel’s Land
Newton, “I asked the Lord that I might grow”
Be Still My Soul
It is Well With my Soul
Day by Day
Jesus of the Scars
Before the Throne
In Christ Alone

Some things to remember:

“God careth for you with such special care that he has even numbered the very hairs on your head and put your tears in His bottle. You may therefore rest assured that even those experiences which are causing you so much sorrow are all in accordance with His eternal counsel and decree.”
–Spurgeon

From Spurgeon’s Sorrows:
“Grief is depression in proportion to circumstance; depression is grief out of proportion to circumstance.”
“Depression can so vandalize our joy and sense of God that no promise of His can comfort us in the moment, no matter how true or kindly spoken.”
“The sun may not rise for a few hours yet. But here amid the waiting hours, the sorrowing have a savior.”
“No matter how far you fall in your depression, the everlasting arms shall be lower than you are.”
“Hope demolished can become hope rebuilt, if it is realistic and rooted, not just in the cross and empty tomb but also in the garden and the sweat-like blood.”
“I am certain that I have seen more in the dark than ever I saw in the light, – more stars, most certainly, – more things in heaven if fewer things on earth.”

The valley of the shadow of death is not our final destination – Michael Jinkins

Leave a Reply

